Geophysics and Geodynamics Division


Nominations due 1 February

The George P. Woollard Award is given annually by the Geophysics and Geodynamics Division to recognize individuals who have provided outstanding contributions to geology through the application of the principles and techniques of geophysics. The award is presented at the annual GSA meeting in conjunction with the Geophysics and Structural Geology and Tectonics Division business meetings. The recipient will be requested to deliver an honorary George P. Woollard Technical Lecture before the award ceremony that provides an overview and musings on his or her work. At the joint award ceremony, a citationist (usually the person who submitted the nomination) reads a written citation and the awardee reads a written response. A certificate is then awarded by the Geophysics and Geodynamics Division. Both the citation and the response are subsequently posted on GSA's web site.

How to Submit your nomination for the Woollard Award

To nominate, all you need is a name, contact information, and a short paragraph statement on the nominee's qualifications, including a short summary of their specific work or outcomes and how these have contributed to geology. A curricula vita, if available, helps, but is not required. Please send as email attachments to the Geophysics and Geodynamics Division Chair.

Nominations, due by 1 February of each year, are evaluated by a selection committee composed of three former award recipients. After an iterative ranking process, the committee forwards the top 3 candidates to the Geophysics and Geodynamics Division Management Board for a final vote. The name of the selected awardee is then forwarded to GSA by 1 April for approval by Council. When approved, the awardee will be notified by GSA.

George P. Woollard Awardees

2018 Greg Hirth — Citation / Response
2017 Dr. Susan Beck — Citation / Response
2016 William J. “Bill” Hinze — Citation / Response
2015 David A.D. Evans — Citation / Response
2014 Joe Kirschvink — Citation / Response
2013 Peter Bird — Citation / Response
2012 Robert Smith — Citation / Response
2011 Leigh Royden — Citation / Response
2010 Tim Dixon — Citation / Response
2009 Seth Stein — Talk — Citation / Response
2008 Eugene Humphreys — Citation / Response
2007 Alan Levander — Citation / Response
2006 Ken Kodama — Citation / Response
2005 Anthony B. Watts — Citation / Response
2004 David Sandwell — Citation / Response
2003 Lisa Tauxe — Citation / Response
2002 G. Randy Keller — Citation / Response
2001 Bradford H. Hager
2000 Donald Forsyth
1999 Frank M. Ritcher
1998 Thomas H. Jordan
1997 Robert S. White
1996 Nikolas Ivan Christentsen
1995 Walter D. Mooney
1994 Charlotte E. Keen
1993 Ron M. Clowes
1992 Rob Van der Voo
1991 Norman H. Sleep
1990 Jack E. Oliver
1989 Seiya Uyeda
1988 No award given
1987 Neil D. Opdyke
1986 Drummond H. Matthews
1985 Charles L. Drake
1984 Manik Talwani
1983 George A. Thompson