IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
1932678CORDILLERANC5/17/20245/30/20251ChairCDr. John Wakabayashijohnwako@sbcglobal.netCalifornia State University, Fresno(559) 278-6459
9104838CORDILLERANPC6/1/20245/30/20256Past ChairPCDr. JAY Chapmanjbchapmanv@utep.eduUniversity of Texas at El Paso(520) 429-9713
9100284CORDILLERANVC6/3/20245/30/202512Vice-ChairVCElisa Fitz-Díazelisaf@geologia.unam.mxUNAM52-55 5622 4324
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202516SecretarySDr. Calvin G. Barnescal.barnes@ttu.eduTexas Tech 
9232976CORDILLERANSR6/3/20245/4/202581Student RepresentativeSRJavaria Azizjavariaaziz@yahoo.comPortland State University, Department of Geology 
9066839NORTH-CENTRALPC4/21/20244/23/20256Past ChairPCTara A. Kneeshawkneeshta@gvsu.eduGrand Valley State University(616) 331-8996
9241369NORTH-CENTRALS4/24/20245/31/202816SecretarySJames L. Berglundberglundjam@uwplatt.eduUniversity of Wisconsin -Platteville(507) 313-6087
9224849NORTH-CENTRALSR5/8/20235/30/202581Student RepresentativeSRMr. Ezekiel King Phillipskingphej@mail.uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati, Department of Geosciences 
9141424NORTH-CENTRALML5/8/20235/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Stuart Michael Kenderesskenderes@gmail.com  
9085814NORTH-CENTRALML5/8/20235/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. James Joseph Zambito, IVzambitoj@beloit.eduBeloit College, Department of Geology(608) 363-2223
9086603NORTH-CENTRALML4/24/20245/31/2027126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Daniel M. SturmerDaniel.Sturmer@uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati Geosciences(513) 556-5705
9068885NORTHEASTERNC3/20/20243/30/20251ChairCDr. Nancy A. Pricenapricegeo@gmail.comCenter for Earth & Environmental Science, SUNY Plattsburgh(240) 542-8508
2001605NORTHEASTERNPC7/1/20239/30/20246Past ChairPCDr. Howell Bosbyshellhbosbyshell@wcupa.eduWest Chester University(610) 436-2805
9321136NORTHEASTERNVC3/20/20243/30/202512Vice-ChairVCDr. Kristen Underwood, Ph.D.Kristen.Underwood@uvm.eduUniversity of Vermont and Saint Michael’s College 
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20136/30/202617Secretary-TreasurerS-TDr. David P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.eduMiddlebury College(802) 443-3476
9131751ROCKY_MTNC6/1/20245/20/20251ChairCEmily J. Kleberekleber@utah.govUtah Geological Survey(801) 537-3380
9100751ROCKY_MTNPC6/1/20245/20/20256Past ChairPCDr. David M. Pearsonpeardavi@isu.eduIdaho State University(208) 282-3486
9118218ROCKY_MTNCE6/3/20245/20/202511Chair-electCEJohn Selwyn Singletonjohn.singleton@colostate.eduColorado State University 
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/30/20227/29/202616SecretarySShannon Mahanfiftyisntold@gmail.comUS Geological Survey(303) 236-7928
9309302ROCKY_MTNGRADSTU8/10/20235/30/202581Graduate Student RepresentativeGRADSTUMrs. Kristen Elizabeth Smithkrstnwolf92@gmail.comBrigham Young University- Provo 
9318775ROCKY_MTNUNGDSTREP8/14/20235/30/202581Undergraduate Student RepresentativeUNGDSTREPMichael Tiago Heebnermichaeltiagoheebn@isu.eduIdaho State Univ, Geology(208) 236-3111
9082735ROCKY_MTNML7/30/20227/29/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Alexis Katherine Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University(757) 784-6452
9050462ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20235/30/2025126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Benjamin J. C. Laabsblaabs@usbr.govU.S. Bureau of Reclamation(303) 579-2174
2009963SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH4/24/20243/11/20252Co-ChairCOCHMr. Scott Marvin Ausbrooksscott.ausbrooks@arkansas.govOffice of the State Geologist - Arkansas Department of Energy & Environment(501) 296-1882
9116880SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH4/24/20243/11/20252Co-ChairCOCHAngela Chandlerangela.chandler@arkansas.govOffice of the State Geologist(501) 683-0111
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALPC4/24/20243/11/20256Past ChairPCProf. Mohamed Aly, Ph.D.aly@uark.eduDepartment of Geosciences, University of Arkansas(479) 575-3185
9082526SOUTH-CENTRALS10/13/202110/21/202516SecretarySMichael T. DeAngelismtdeangelis@ualr.eduUniversity of Arkansas at Little Rock(501) 916-5761
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20225/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLProf. Jay B. Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.comUALR(501) 413-9363
1990011SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20184/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Wendi J. W. Williamswwilliam@southtexascollege.eduSouth Texas College(956) 872-8319
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20215/1/2025126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Stephen K. Bosssboss@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas(479) 409-9857
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20224/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLProf. Mohamed Aly, Ph.D.aly@uark.eduDepartment of Geosciences, University of Arkansas(479) 575-3185
9116549SOUTH-CENTRALML3/13/20245/31/2028126Member-at-LargeMLJuan Alonso Ramirez Fernandezalonso_fct@hotmail.com (821) 211-0138
9131752SOUTHEASTERNC4/23/20243/28/20251ChairCDr. Rebecca Freemanrebecca.freeman@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky Earth & Environ(859) 257-6376
9054599SOUTHEASTERNCE4/17/20243/28/202511Chair-electCEDr. Arthur James Merschatamerschat@usgs.govUSGS(865) 207-2857
1521935SOUTHEASTERNVC4/17/20243/28/202512Vice-ChairVCDr. Stephen A. Leslielesliesa@jmu.eduJames Madison University(540) 568-6130
9129125SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/22/20233/28/202517Secretary-TreasurerS-TKatherine Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843

About the Southeastern Section

Southeastern Section

The Southeastern Section was established in December 1947, but did not hold its first annual meeting until 1952. The GSA Foundation generously supports the activities of the Section and we ask that you, in turn, support the GSA Foundation. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2023-2024 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year, Vice-Chair—1 year, Secretary-Treasurer—1 year


 

Management Board

The management board shall be composed of the officers, the officers-elect, and the past officers of the Section. Council member(s) residing within the Section boundaries shall be ex officio members. The chairs of the Section committees (currently education, geology and public policy, liaison, and student support) shall be voting ex officio members. The vice-chair and secretary-treasurer-elect shall become members of the management board one week prior to the annual meeting start date. The chair-elect shall become a voting member of the management board one year prior to taking the office of chair, and the retiring officers shall continue as members of the management board until one week after the beginning of the next year's annual meeting.


 

GSA Councilors

Christopher Bailey
Mark Gabriel Little
Brian G. Katz
Madeline E. Schreiber
J. Wright Horton, Jr.


Membership

2,101 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2023.

Committees

The SE Section has (or has representatives on) the following committees:
Student Support Committee, Program Committee, Nominating Committee, Education Committee, Geology and Public Policy Committee, Campus Liaison Committee
 

Region

In the United States:

The states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

In Mexico:

The states of Campeche, Quintana Roo, and Yucatán.

*Note: Section boundaries were revised 24 April 2004 by GSA Council to add Puerto Rico. The affiliation of the state of Louisiana changed from the Southeastern Section to the South-Central Section in 1997.