IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
9104838CORDILLERANC5/16/20235/31/20241ChairCDr. JAY Chapmanjbchapmanv@utep.eduUniversity of Texas at El Paso(520) 429-9713
9077828CORDILLERANPC5/19/20235/31/20246Past ChairPCScott E.K. Bennettsekbennett@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey 
1932678CORDILLERANVC5/16/20235/31/202412Vice-ChairVCDr. John Wakabayashijohnwako@sbcglobal.netCalifornia State University, Fresno5592786459
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202516SecretarySDr. Calvin G. Barnescal.barnes@ttu.eduTexas Tech 
1334566NORTH-CENTRALC5/8/20235/1/20241ChairCDouglas R. Gouzie, PGdouglasgouzie@missouristate.eduMissouri State University- Geology(417) 836-5228
9066839NORTH-CENTRALPC5/8/20235/1/20246Past ChairPCTara A. Kneeshawkneeshta@gvsu.eduGrand Valley State University(616) 331-8996
1600278NORTH-CENTRALVC5/8/20235/1/202412Vice-ChairVCDr. Kevin Lee Mickuskevinmickus@missouristate.eduMissouri State Univ Geology(417) 836-6375
1694000NORTH-CENTRALPVC5/8/20235/1/202413Past Vice-ChairPVCDr. Virginia L. Petersonpetersvi@gvsu.eduGrand Valley State University(616) 331-2811
9077957NORTH-CENTRALS4/20/20215/1/202516SecretarySDr. Tandis S. Bidgolitandis.bidgoli@csusb.eduCal. State Univ. San Bernardino 
9224849NORTH-CENTRALSR5/8/20235/30/202581Student RepresentativeSRMr. Ezekiel King Phillipskingphej@mail.uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati, Department of Geosciences 
9141424NORTH-CENTRALML5/8/20235/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Stuart Michael Kenderesskenderes@gmail.com  
9085814NORTH-CENTRALML5/8/20235/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. James Joseph Zambito, IVzambitoj@beloit.eduBeloit College, Department of Geology(608) 363-2223
2004214NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20216/1/2024126Member-at-LargeMLDr. William S. Elliott, Jr.wselliott@usi.eduUniv Southern Indiana, Dept Geology, Physics, & Env Science(812) 228-5053
2001605NORTHEASTERNPC7/1/20236/30/20246Past ChairPCDr. Howell Bosbyshellhbosbyshell@wcupa.eduWest Chester University(610) 436-2805
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20136/30/202617Secretary-TreasurerS-TDr. David P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.eduMiddlebury College(802) 443-3476
2002643NORTHEASTERNML7/1/20226/30/2024126Member-at-LargeMLMs. Michelle J. Markleymmarkley@mtholyoke.eduMount Holyoke College Geology & Geogra 
9100751ROCKY_MTNC6/1/20235/31/20241ChairCDr. David M. Pearsonpeardavi@isu.eduIdaho State University(208) 282-3486
9116526ROCKY_MTNPC8/1/20237/31/20246Past ChairPCDr. Elizabeth Balgordelizabethbalgord@weber.eduWeber State University, Earth & Environmental Sciences(801) 626-6225
9131751ROCKY_MTNCE8/23/20235/31/202411Chair-electCEEmily J. Kleberekleber@utah.govUtah Geological Survey(801) 537-3380
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/30/20227/29/202616SecretarySShannon Mahanfiftyisntold@gmail.comUS Geological Survey(303) 236-7928
9309302ROCKY_MTNGRADSTU8/10/20235/30/202581Graduate Student RepresentativeGRADSTUMrs. Kristen Elizabeth Smithkrstnwolf92@gmail.comBrigham Young University- Provo 
9318775ROCKY_MTNUNGDSTREP8/14/20235/30/202581Undergraduate Student RepresentativeUNGDSTREPMichael Tiago Heebnermichaeltiagoheebn@isu.eduIdaho State Univ, Geology(208) 236-3111
9082735ROCKY_MTNML7/30/20227/29/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Alexis Katherine Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University(757) 784-6452
9050462ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20235/31/2024126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Benjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University(303) 579-2174
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALC4/1/20235/1/20241ChairCProf. Mohamed Aly, Ph.D.aly@uark.eduDepartment of Geosciences, University of Arkansas(479) 575-3185
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALPC7/1/20234/1/20246Past ChairPCDr. Todd HalihanTODD.HALIHAN@OKSTATE.EDUOklahoma State University(405) 744-6358
2009963SOUTH-CENTRALVC4/1/20235/1/202412Vice-ChairVCMr. Scott Marvin Ausbrooksscott.ausbrooks@arkansas.govArkansas Geological SurveyDepartment of Energy & Environment(501) 296-1882
9116880SOUTH-CENTRALVC4/1/20235/1/202412Vice-ChairVCAngela Chandlerangela.chandler@arkansas.govArkansas Geological Survey(501) 683-0111
9082526SOUTH-CENTRALS10/13/202110/21/202516SecretarySMichael T. DeAngelismtdeangelis@ualr.eduUniversity of Arkansas at Little Rock(501) 916-5761
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20224/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLProf. Mohamed Aly, Ph.D.aly@uark.eduDepartment of Geosciences, University of Arkansas(479) 575-3185
1990011SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20184/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Wendi J. W. Williamswwilliam@southtexascollege.eduSouth Texas College(956) 872-8319
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20215/1/2025126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Stephen K. Bosssboss@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas(479) 409-9857
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20225/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLProf. Jay B. Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.comUALR(501) 413-9363
9055777SOUTHEASTERNC3/22/20234/22/20241ChairCBill Hameshameswe@auburn.eduAuburn University, Dept of Geology(334) 844-4890
9129125SOUTHEASTERNPC3/22/20234/22/20246Past ChairPCKatherine Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843
9131752SOUTHEASTERNCE3/22/20234/22/202411Chair-electCEDr. Rebecca Freemanrebecca.freeman@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky Earth & Environ(859) 257-6376
2006661SOUTHEASTERNVC3/22/20234/22/202412Vice-ChairVCMr. Blair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University(828) 227-2536
9054599SOUTHEASTERNPVC9/15/20234/22/202413Past Vice-ChairPVCDr. Arthur James Merschatamerschat@usgs.govUSGS(865) 207-2857
9129125SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/22/20234/22/202417Secretary-TreasurerS-TKatherine Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843

About the Northeastern Section

Northeastern Section

The Northeastern Section was founded by the Council of the Geological Society of America in April 1965. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2023-2024 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year, Vice-Chair—1 year, Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the section officers, the retiring officers, and two section members elected at large who serve overlapping 2-year terms.


 

Membership

3,785 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2022.

Grants

The GSA Foundation has awarded $4,500 to each of the six GSA sections. The Northeastern Section offers two types of grants:

Please contact the Section Secretary (above) for more information.

Region

In the United States:

The District of Columbia and the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

In Canada:

The provinces of New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and that part of Ontario east of the 89th meridian.