Division Honors & Awards


2023 Rip Rapp Archaeological Geology Award


2023 Gilbert H. Cady Award

Shifeng Dai
China University of Mining and Technology, Beijing

View Citation & Response


2023 E.B. Burwell, Jr., Award

Syed E. Hasan
University of Missouri-Kansas City

View Citation & Response

Awarded for: Hasan, S.E., 2022, Introduction to Waste Management: A Textbook, 1st Edition: New York, John Wiley & Sons, 464 p.


2023 M. Lee Allison Award for Geoinformatics


2023 George P. Woollard Award


2023 Biggs Award for Excellence in Earth Science Teaching


2023 Mary C. Rabbitt History and Philosophy of Geology Award

Claudine Cohen
Momoko Seto

Claudine Cohen
L’école des Hautes Études en Sciences, Paris

View Citation & Response


2023 O.E. Meinzer Award


2023 GSA International Distinguished Career Award


2023 Israel C. Russell Award


2023 Distinguished Geologic Career Award (MGPV Division)


2023 G. K. Gilbert Award

Candice Joy Hansen-Koharcheck
Planetary Science Institute

View Citation & Response


2023 Kirk Bryan Award

Simon Pendleton
Environmental Science and Policy Program, Plymouth State University

with Gifford H. Miller, Nathaniel Lifton, Scott J. Lehman, John Southon, Sarah E. Crump, and Robert S. Anderson

Awarded for: Pendleton, S.L., et al., 2019, Rapidly receding Arctic Canada glaciers revealing landscapes continuously ice-covered for more than 40,000 years: v. 10, 445.

View Citation & Response


2023 Laurence L. Sloss Award

Nicholas Christie-Blick
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory

View Citation & Response


2023 Career Contribution Award (Structural Geology & Tectonics)


2023 Distinguished Career Award (Geobiology and Geomicrobiology Division)


2023 Meritorious Service Award (Geology and Health Division)