National Awards

Nominations for the national awards described below are being solicited. Each year GSA members have been invited to participate by recommending possible candidates. The nomination process is coordinated by AGI on behalf of its member societies and a roster of candidates will be finalized by the AGI Member Society Council at its spring meeting.

You may nominate a candidate through GSA or you may nominate directly to NSF.
For more information regarding the submission of nominations to GSA, please email

William T. Pecora Award

Nominate directly to NASA and
the Department of the Interior

The Pecora Award, sponsored jointly by NASA and the Department of the Interior, is presented annually in recognition of outstanding contributions of individuals or groups toward the understanding of Earth by means of remote sensing. The award recognizes contributions of those in the scientific and technical community as well as those involved in the practical application of remote sensing. Consideration will be given to sustained or single contributions of major importance to the science.

National Medal of Science

Nominate a candidate directly to NSF

The medal is awarded by the President of the United States to individuals "deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, engineering, or social and behavioral sciences."

There are now many younger American scientists and engineers who may be reaching a point where their contributions are worthy of recognition. The committee is giving increasing attention to these individuals as well as to those outstanding women and minority scientists who deserve recognition.

Deadline for Nominations to GSA: 1 February

Vannevar Bush Award

Nominate a candidate directly to NSF

The Vannevar Bush Award is to a person who, through public service activities in science and technology, has made an outstanding contribution toward the welfare of humankind and the nation.

The Vannevar Bush Award is given to a senior statesperson of science and technology and compliments the National Science Foundation's Alan T. Waterman Award, which is given to a promising young scientist. The two awards are designed to encourage individuals to seek the highest levels of achievement in science, engineering, and service to humanity.

Deadline for Nominations to GSA: 1 February

Alan T. Waterman Award

nominate a candidate directly to NSF

The Waterman Award is presented annually by the National Science Foundation and National Science Board to an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by the National Science Foundation.

Candidates must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents and must be 35 years of age or younger, OR not more than five years beyond receipt of their Ph.D. degree as of 31 December, for the year in which nominated.

Candidates should have completed sufficient scientific or engineering research to have demonstrated, through personal accomplishments, outstanding capability and exceptional promise for significant future achievement.

Deadline for Nominations to GSA: 1 February

How to Nominate via GSA

> William T. Pecora Award
> Vannevar Bush Award
> National Medal of Science
> Alan T. Waterman Award

Letters of nomination and supporting information to include:

  • name, address, and contact information for nominee and nominator
  • reasons for nominating
  • supporting biographical information for nominee
  • list of publications written by nominee

Letters of nomination and supporting information, as specified under the specific award, should be addressed to
Program Officer - Grants, Awards and Recognition
Geological Society of America
P.O. Box 9140
Boulder, CO 80301-9140

Deadline for award nominations: 1 February.