Northeastern Section Meeting

57th Annual Meeting of the Northeastern Section

20–22 March

Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square | Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Geoscience in a changed and changing world

 

Call for Proposals

Deadline: 1 June 2021

We are excited to announce that the GSA 2022 Northeastern Section Meeting is planned as an in-person meeting to be held in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, on 19–22 March. Lancaster is a welcoming and walkable small city with a rich history and arts and cultural community. The conference location is the Lancaster County Convention Center and Marriott at Penn Square, in the heart of downtown and convenient to shops, galleries, music venues, and restaurants, including the oldest operating indoor farmers’ market in the country. Lancaster is easily accessible by car, train, and from the Harrisburg airport.

Field trips, short courses, and the Welcoming Reception will be on Saturday, 19 March, followed by technical sessions and events on Sunday, Monday, and one-half day on Tuesday, 22 March.

For this meeting, we are seeking proposals for technical sessions (in-person, on-site only), and field trips and short courses (in-person or online). We especially encourage proposals from across all aspects of geoscience and education that speak to the theme of the meeting: Geoscience in a changed and changing world.

For this meeting, we are seeking proposals for technical sessions, field trips, and short courses.

Proposal submissions must include:

  • Title of session/field trip/short course
  • Principal organizer (name, affiliation, and email)
  • Co-organizers, if any (names, affiliations, and emails)
  • Preference for format (oral or poster) for technical session
  • Preference for in-person or online format for field trip or short course
  • A short description (50 words or less) to be published with the call for abstracts
  • More detailed information about the field trip or short course
  • Any approved endorsements or sponsorships (e.g., a GSA Division)
  • Any potential speakers that have been identified
  • Deadline: 1 June

Please contact the committee listed below with any questions.

Local Committee

Organizing Co-chairs:
Andy deWet, adewet@fandm.edu; Chris Williams, cwillia2@fandm.edu
Technical Program Co-chairs:
David Sunderlin, sunderld@lafayette.edu; LeeAnn Srogi, lsrogi@wcupa.edu; Gale Blackmer, gblackmer@pa.gov; Gail Ashley, gmashley@eps.rutgers.edu
Field Trip Chair:
Jaime Tomlinson, jaimet@udel.edu
Sponsorships Co-chairs:
Tim Bechtel, timothy.bechtel@fandm.edu; Talor Walsh, talor.walsh@millersville.edu
Short Course Chair:
Rob Sternberg, rob.sternberg@fandm.edu
K–12 Teacher Education Program Co-chairs:
Lynn Marquez, lynn.marquez@millersville.edu; Christopher Roemmele, CROEMMELE@wcupa.edu
Student Volunteer Chair:
Emily Wilson, emily.wilson@fandm.edu
Coordination/Communications Chair:
Melissa Betrone, mbetrone@fandm.edu