Joint Section Meeting

118th Annual Meeting of the Cordilleran Section
72nd Annual Meeting of the Rocky Mountain Section

15–17 March

UNLV Student Union | Las Vegas, Nevada

Rendezvous at the Geologic Crossroads

 

Call for Proposals

We are excited to announce that the 2022 GSA Cordilleran and Rocky Mountain Joint Section Meeting will be held in Las Vegas, Nevada, for a Rendezvous at the Geologic Crossroads of the Cordillera, Great Basin, and Colorado Plateau. The meeting will be 15–17 March on UNLV campus, with easy access to museums, restaurants, shopping, and the neon metropolis of the Las Vegas strip. Las Vegas is pleasantly warm and dry in March, and it's a perfect time to explore the city, as well as the world class geology in nearby Red Rock Canyon, Lake Mead National Recreation Areas, and Death Valley National Park. The organizing committee enthusiastically invites proposals for technical sessions, field trips, and short courses that encompass the breadth of western U.S. geology, tectonics, hydrogeology and environmental geoscience, surface processes, paleoclimatological and paleontological records, planetary geology, geoscience education, and more.

For this meeting, we are seeking proposals for technical sessions, field trips, and short courses.

Proposal submissions must include:

  • Title of session/field trip/short course
  • Principal organizer (name, affiliation, and email)
  • Co-organizers (names, affiliations, and emails)
  • Identification of proposal as a symposium, theme session, field trip, or short course
  • Preference for format (oral or poster) if applicable
  • A short description (50 words or less)
  • Deadline: 15 June

Please submit your proposal electronically, or email your submissions to the appropriate chairs listed below.

Organizing Committee

Meeting General Co-chairs:
Michael Wells (UNLV), michael.wells@unlv.edu; Alexis Ault (USU), alexis.ault@usu.edu
Technical Program Co-Chairs:
Tomas Capaldi (UNLV), tomas.capaldi@unlv.edu; Dennis Newell (USU), dennis.newell@usu.edu
Field Trip Co-Chairs:
Ganqing Jiang (UNLV), ganqing.jiang@unlv.edu; Carol Dehler (USU), carol.dehler@usu.edu
Short Course Chair:
Bethany Coulthard (UNLV), bethany.boulthard@unlv.edu
Student Volunteer Chair:
Pamela Burnley (UNLV), pamela.burnley@unlv.edu; Mike Darin, mdarin@unr.edu
Sponsorship Chair:
Simon Jowitt (UNLV), simon.jowitt@unlv.edu