IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
9081510CORDILLERANC5/14/20205/14/20211ChairCRobinson Cecilrobinson.cecil@csun.eduCalifornia State University Northridge(818) 677-7009
1516035CORDILLERANPC5/14/20205/14/20216Past ChairPCJeffrey Leejeff@geology.cwu.eduColorado School of Mines Geophysics. Green Center Rm 283(509) 963-2801
9066033CORDILLERANVC5/14/20205/14/202112Vice-ChairVCRachel Teasdalerteasdale@csuchico.eduCalifornia State Univ - Chico Geological & Environmental Sciences(530) 898-5547
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202116SecretarySCalvin Glenn Barnescal.barnes@ttu.edu (806) 928-1218
1334566NORTH-CENTRALC5/20/20204/20/20211ChairCDouglas R. Gouzie, PGdouglasgouzie@missouristate.eduMissouri State University Geology(417) 836-5228
9068110NORTH-CENTRALPC5/19/20204/20/20216Past ChairPCKaren B. Grankgran@d.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota Duluth(218) 726-7406
1600278NORTH-CENTRALVC5/19/20204/20/202112Vice-ChairVCKevin L. Mickuskevinmickus@missouristate.eduMissouri State Univ Geology(417) 836-6375
1449342NORTH-CENTRALPVC6/2/20204/20/202113Past Vice-ChairPVCHarry M. Joljolhm@uwec.eduUniversity of Wisconsin - Eau Claire(715) 836-3472
1968825NORTH-CENTRALS3/21/20175/1/202116SecretarySNancy S. Williamsgsanorthcentralsection@gmail.com (417) 496-2187
9184275NORTH-CENTRALSR5/16/20194/19/202181Student RepresentativeSRCollin Rolandcjroland@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin - Madison(214) 850-8391
9118109NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20206/1/2023126Member-at-LargeMLMelinda Catherine Higleymchigley@calvin.eduGeology(616) 526-6374
9149789NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20186/1/2021126Member-at-LargeMLLucas Zoetlzoet@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison Geoscience(608) 262-1921
1981225NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20196/1/2022126Member-at-LargeMLMichael B. Wolfmichaelwolf@augustana.eduAugustana College Geology Dept(309) 794-7304
1101620NORTHEASTERNPC3/21/20203/21/20216Past ChairPCJulie Brigham-Grettejuliebg@geo.umass.eduUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst Dept of Geosciences (413) 545-4840
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20134/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TDavid P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.eduMiddlebury College, Geology Department(802) 443-3476
9114362ROCKY_MTNC5/5/20205/26/20211ChairCSarah Wheeler Keenansarah.keenan@sdsmt.eduSouth Dakota School of Mines & Tech., Geology and Geological Engineering(605) 394-2461
9050769ROCKY_MTNPC5/5/20205/31/20216Past ChairPCDavid W. Marchettidmarchetti@western.eduWestern Colorado University(970) 943-2367
9050462ROCKY_MTNCE5/5/20205/27/202111Chair-electCEBenjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University Department of Geosciences(701) 231-6197
2011274ROCKY_MTNVC5/5/20205/27/202112Vice-ChairVCHarland L. Goldsteinhgoldstein@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey(303) 236-5506
9252075ROCKY_MTNSR5/5/20205/17/202281Student RepresentativeSRGrace DeVaultgrace.devault@mines.sdsmt.edu  
9082735ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20185/4/2022126Member-at-LargeMLAlexis K. Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University Department of Geology(757) 784-6452
9107420SOUTH-CENTRALPC3/11/20204/20/20216Past ChairPCArne Max Erich Winguthawinguth@uta.eduUniversity of Texas at Arlington(817) 272-2977
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALS-T3/20/20128/20/202017Secretary-TreasurerS-TWm Jay Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.com (501) 371-7613
2012026SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLAntony N. Gilesagiles@midland.eduMidland College Geology(432) 685-5580
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLJuan Luis Gonzálezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
9085804SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLChu-Lin Chengclcheng@alumni.iastate.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley5157084172
9082526SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLMichael T. DeAngelismtdeangelis@ualr.eduUniversity of Arkansas at Little Rock Earth Sciences(501) 569-3542
9146406SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLJonathan B. Sumrall, Ph.D.jbsumrall@fhsu.eduFort Hays State University(813) 240-1696
9152396SOUTHEASTERNC3/22/20204/1/20211ChairCColin D. Sumrallcsumrall@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee Earth and Planetary Sciences(865) 974-0400
9068219SOUTHEASTERNPC3/22/20204/1/20216Past ChairPCDavid B. Spearsdavid.spears@dmme.virginia.govDivision of Geology and Mineral Resour(434) 951-6350
9083395SOUTHEASTERNCE3/22/20204/1/202111Chair-electCEScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
9054599SOUTHEASTERNPVC3/22/20204/1/202113Past Vice-ChairPVCArthur James Merschatamerschat@usgs.govUSGS(865) 207-2857
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20164/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University Program Study of Developed Shorelines(828) 227-2536

About the Northeastern Section

Northeastern Section

The Northeastern Section was founded by the Council of the Geological Society of America in April 1965. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2019-2020 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year, Vice-Chair—1 year, Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the section officers, the retiring officers, and two section members elected at large who serve overlapping 2-year terms.


 

GSA Councilors

Carmala Garzione
Frank Pazzaglia
Suzanne O'Connell


Membership

3,883 voting members of the Section as of December 2019.

Grants

The GSA Foundation has awarded $4,500 to each of the six GSA sections. The Northeastern Section offers two types of grants:

Please contact the Section Secretary (above) for more information.

Region

In the United States:

The District of Columbia and the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

In Canada:

The provinces of New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and that part of Ontario east of the 89th meridian.