IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
1516035CORDILLERANC5/14/20195/14/20201ChairCJeffrey Leejeff@geology.cwu.eduColorado School of Mines Geophysics. Green Center Rm 283(509) 963-2801
1953140CORDILLERANPC5/14/20195/14/20206Past ChairPCMichael L. Wellsmichael.wells@unlv.eduUniversity of Nevada, Las vegas(858) 243-4468
9081510CORDILLERANVC5/14/20195/14/202012Vice-ChairVCRobinson Cecilrobinson.cecil@csun.eduCalifornia State University Northridge(818) 677-7009
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202116SecretarySCalvin Glenn Barnescal.barnes@ttu.edu2815 23rd St(806) 928-1218
9068110NORTH-CENTRALC6/1/20196/1/20201ChairCKaren B. Grankgran@d.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota Duluth(218) 726-7406
1650030NORTH-CENTRALPC6/1/20196/1/20206Past ChairPCTina M. Nieminiemit@umkc.eduUniversity of Missouri - Kansas City(816) 235-5342
1449342NORTH-CENTRALVC6/1/20196/1/202012Vice-ChairVCHarry M. Joljolhm@uwec.eduUniversity of Wisconsin - Eau Claire(715) 836-3472
9083335NORTH-CENTRALPVC6/1/20196/1/202013Past Vice-ChairPVCJejung Leeleej@umkc.eduUniversity of Missouri - Kansas City(816) 235-6495
1968825NORTH-CENTRALS3/21/20175/1/202116SecretarySNancy S. Williamsgsanorthcentralsection@gmail.com (417) 496-2187
9184275NORTH-CENTRALSR5/16/20194/19/202181Student RepresentativeSRCollin Rolandcjroland@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin - Madison(214) 850-8391
9149789NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20186/1/2021126Member-at-LargeMLLucas Zoetlzoet@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison Geoscience(608) 262-1921
1981225NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20196/1/2020126Member-at-LargeMLMichael B. Wolfmichaelwolf@augustana.eduAugustana College Geology Dept(309) 794-7304
1194722NORTH-CENTRALML3/21/20175/19/2020126Member-at-LargeMLB. Brandon Currybcurry@illinois.eduUniv of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign(217) 359-1026
1101620NORTHEASTERNC3/18/20193/21/20201ChairCJulie Brigham-Grettejuliebg@geo.umass.eduDept of Geosciences Morrill Building UMass(413) 545-4840
1901692NORTHEASTERNPC3/19/20193/19/20206Past ChairPCPaul B. Tomascaktomascak@oswego.eduSUNY Oswego CLAS Dean(315) 312-2285
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20134/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TDavid P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.eduMiddlebury College, Geology Department(802) 443-3476
2012082NORTHEASTERNML3/18/20183/21/2020126Member-at-LargeMLSean R. Cornellsrcornell@ship.eduShippensburg University Dept of Geography & Earth Science(717) 477-1310
9050769ROCKY_MTNC4/12/20195/4/20201ChairCDavid W. Marchettidmarchetti@western.eduWestern Colorado University(970) 943-2367
9065189ROCKY_MTNPC4/12/20195/4/20206Past ChairPCThomas J. Williamstomw@uidaho.eduUniversity of Idaho, Geological Sciences(208) 885-6656
9114362ROCKY_MTNCE4/12/20195/4/202011Chair-electCESarah Wheeler Keenansarah.keenan@sdsmt.eduSouth Dakota School of Mines & Tech., Geology and Geological Engineering(605) 394-2461
2011274ROCKY_MTNVC6/1/20185/4/202012Vice-ChairVCHarland L. Goldsteinhgoldstein@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey(303) 236-5506
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/1/20176/30/202016SecretarySShannon Mahansmahan@usgs.govUS Geological Survey(303) 236-7928
9169954ROCKY_MTNSR4/12/20195/4/202081Student RepresentativeSRSylvia Rose Nicovichsylvia.nicovich@msu.montana.eduMontana State University(805) 458-2528
9213948ROCKY_MTNSR4/12/20195/4/202081Student RepresentativeSRMichael Geoffrey FrothinghamMichael.Frothingham@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder 
9082735ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20185/4/2020126Member-at-LargeMLAlexis K. Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University Department of Geology(757) 784-6452
9107420SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH3/28/20193/10/20202Co-ChairCOCHArne Max Erich Winguthawinguth@uta.eduUniversity of Texas at Arlington (817) 272-2977
9134609SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH3/28/20193/10/20202Co-ChairCOCHOmar R. Harveyomar.harvey@tcu.eduTexas Christian University(601) 266-4529
2012242SOUTH-CENTRALPC3/28/20193/20/20206Past ChairPCMatthew F. Kirkmfkirk@ksu.eduKansas State University Department of Geology(785) 532-6724
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALS-T3/20/20128/20/202017Secretary-TreasurerS-TWm Jay Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.com (501) 371-7613
9265384SOUTH-CENTRALSR3/28/20193/10/202081Student RepresentativeSRJordon Patrick Masseyjordmas@ostatemail.okstate.eduOklahoma State University BPSoG(269) 364-7623
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20143/10/2020126Member-at-LargeMLStephen K. Boss, Ph.D.sboss@uark.eduUniv Arkansas - Fayetteville Dept of Geosciences(479) 575-7134
2012026SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLAntony N. Gilesagiles@midland.eduMidland College Geology(432) 685-5580
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20143/10/2020126Member-at-LargeMLTodd Halihantodd.halihan@okstate.eduOklahoma State University School of Geology(405) 744-9248
9085804SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLChu-Lin Chengclcheng@alumni.iastate.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley5157084172
9146406SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLJonathan B. Sumrall, Ph.D.jbsumrall@fhsu.eduFort Hays State University(813) 240-1696
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLJuan Luis Gonzálezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
9082526SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLMichael T. DeAngelismtdeangelis@ualr.eduUniversity of Arkansas at Little Rock Earth Sciences(501) 569-3542
9068219SOUTHEASTERNC3/30/20193/21/20201ChairCDavid B. Spearsdavid.spears@dmme.virginia.govDivision of Geology and Mineral Resour(434) 951-6350
9201874SOUTHEASTERNPC3/30/20193/21/20206Past ChairPCVenkataraman Lakshmivlakshmi@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia(434) 982-2052
9152396SOUTHEASTERNCE3/30/20193/21/202011Chair-electCEColin D. Sumrallcsumrall@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee Earth and Planetary Sciences(865) 974-0400
9054599SOUTHEASTERNVC3/30/20193/21/202012Vice-ChairVCArthur James Merschatamerschat@usgs.govUSGS(865) 207-2857
9083395SOUTHEASTERNPVC3/30/20193/21/202013Past Vice-ChairPVCScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20164/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University Program Study of Developed Shorelines(828) 227-2536
9181791SOUTHEASTERNSR4/14/20183/21/202081Student RepresentativeSRAllie Nagurneynagurney@vt.edu2806 Wellesley CT Department of Geosciences 

About the Southeastern Section

Southeastern Section

The Southeastern Section was established in December 1947, but did not hold its first annual meeting until 1952. The GSA Foundation generously supports the activities of the Section and we ask that you, in turn, support the GSA Foundation. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2019-2020 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year, Vice-Chair—1 year, Secretary-Treasurer—1 year


 

Management Board

The management board shall be composed of the officers, the officers-elect, and the past officers of the Section. Council member(s) residing within the Section boundaries shall be ex officio members. The chairs of the Section committees (currently education, geology and public policy, liaison, and student support) shall be voting ex officio members. The vice-chair and secretary-treasurer-elect shall become members of the management board one week prior to the annual meeting start date. The chair-elect shall become a voting member of the management board one year prior to taking the office of chair, and the retiring officers shall continue as members of the management board until one week after the beginning of the next year's annual meeting.


 

GSA Councilors

Chuck Bailey
Mark Little


Membership

3,003 voting members of the Section as of December 2018.

Committees

The SE Section has (or has representatives on) the following committees:
Student Support Committee, Program Committee, Nominating Committee, Education Committee, Geology and Public Policy Committee, Campus Liaison Committee
 

Region

In the United States:

The states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

In Mexico:

The states of Campeche, Quintana Roo, and Yucatán.

*Note: Section boundaries were revised 24 April 2004 by GSA Council to add Puerto Rico. The affiliation of the state of Louisiana changed from the Southeastern Section to the South-Central Section in 1997.