IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
9081510CORDILLERANC5/14/20205/14/20211ChairCRobinson Cecilrobinson.cecil@csun.eduCalifornia State University Northridge(818) 677-7009
1516035CORDILLERANPC5/14/20205/14/20216Past ChairPCJeffrey Leelee1@mines.eduColorado School of Mines Geophysics. Green Center Rm 283(509) 963-2801
9066033CORDILLERANVC5/14/20205/14/202112Vice-ChairVCRachel Teasdalerteasdale@csuchico.eduCalifornia State Univ - Chico Geological & Environmental Sciences(530) 898-5547
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202116SecretarySCalvin Glenn Barnescal.barnes@ttu.edu (806) 928-1218
1219520NORTH-CENTRALC4/21/20214/20/20221ChairCCraig Dietschdietscc@ucmail.uc.eduUniv Cincinnati Dept Geology- ML 013(513) 556-4203
1334566NORTH-CENTRALPC4/21/20215/5/20226Past ChairPCDouglas R. Gouzie, PGgouzie@sbcglobal.netMissouri State University Geology(417) 836-5228
9066839NORTH-CENTRALVC4/21/20214/20/202212Vice-ChairVCTara A. Kneeshawkneeshta@gvsu.eduGrand Valley State University Geology(616) 331-8996
9077957NORTH-CENTRALS-T4/20/20215/1/202517Secretary-TreasurerS-TTandis S. Bidgolibidgolit@missouri.edu (702) 321-9529
9292682NORTH-CENTRALSR4/20/20214/20/202381Student RepresentativeSRDonald Zachary Wormingtonzac0407@live.missouristate.edu  
9118109NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20206/1/2023126Member-at-LargeMLMelinda Catherine Higleymchigley@calvin.eduCalvin University Geology, Geography, Environmental(616) 526-6374
9149789NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20186/1/2021126Member-at-LargeMLLucas Zoetlzoet@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison Geoscience(608) 262-1921
1981225NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20196/1/2022126Member-at-LargeMLMichael B. Wolfmichaelwolf@augustana.eduAugustana College Geology Dept(309) 794-7304
2012760NORTHEASTERNPC3/17/20213/21/20226Past ChairPCSarah M. Principatosprincip@gettysburg.eduGettysburg College Department of Environmental Studies(717) 337-6079
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20133/21/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TDavid P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.edu (802) 443-3476
9091857NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2022126Member-at-LargeMLAmber T. H. Whittakeramberrockhawk@gmail.com (207) 287-2803
9170629NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2022126Member-at-LargeMLLaurie D. Grigglgrigg@norwich.eduNorwich University Earth and Environmental Sciences(802) 485-3322
9114362ROCKY_MTNC5/5/20205/26/20211ChairCSarah Wheeler Keenansarah.keenan@sdsmt.eduSouth Dakota School of Mines & Tech., Geology and Geological Engineering(605) 394-2461
9050769ROCKY_MTNPC5/5/20205/31/20216Past ChairPCDavid W. Marchettidmarchetti@western.eduWestern Colorado University(970) 943-2367
9050462ROCKY_MTNCE5/5/20205/27/202111Chair-electCEBenjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University Department of Geosciences(701) 231-6197
2011274ROCKY_MTNVC5/5/20205/27/202112Vice-ChairVCHarland L. Goldsteinharlandgoldstein@gmail.comFederal Government(303) 236-5506
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/1/20176/30/202116SecretarySShannon Mahanfiftyisntold@gmail.comGuardians of the Galaxy (secretary)(303) 236-7928
9252075ROCKY_MTNSR5/5/20205/17/202281Student RepresentativeSRGrace DeVaultgrace.devault@mines.sdsmt.edu  
9082735ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20185/4/2022126Member-at-LargeMLAlexis K. Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University Department of Geosciences(757) 784-6452
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALS-T3/17/201210/12/202117Secretary-TreasurerS-TJay Jay Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.com (501) 413-9363
9209372SOUTH-CENTRALSR4/15/20214/15/202281Student RepresentativeSRDavid Michael Houghdavidhough82@yahoo.com  
9188858SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/201810/12/2021126Member-at-LargeMLMohamed Aly University of Arkansas 
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20194/20/2023126Member-at-LargeMLJuan Luis Gonzálezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
9083395SOUTHEASTERNC4/2/20214/1/20221ChairCScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
9152396SOUTHEASTERNPC4/2/20214/1/20226Past ChairPCColin D. Sumrallcsumrall@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee Earth and Planetary Sciences(865) 974-0400
9129125SOUTHEASTERNCE4/2/20214/1/202211Chair-electCEKatie Elizabeth Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843
9131752SOUTHEASTERNVC4/2/20214/1/202212Vice-ChairVCRebecca Freemanrebecca.freeman@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky Earth & Environmental Science(859) 257-6376
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20164/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University Program Study of Developed Shorelines(828) 227-2536

About the Southeastern Section

Southeastern Section

The Southeastern Section was established in December 1947, but did not hold its first annual meeting until 1952. The GSA Foundation generously supports the activities of the Section and we ask that you, in turn, support the GSA Foundation. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2020-2021 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year, Vice-Chair—1 year, Secretary-Treasurer—1 year


 

Management Board

The management board shall be composed of the officers, the officers-elect, and the past officers of the Section. Council member(s) residing within the Section boundaries shall be ex officio members. The chairs of the Section committees (currently education, geology and public policy, liaison, and student support) shall be voting ex officio members. The vice-chair and secretary-treasurer-elect shall become members of the management board one week prior to the annual meeting start date. The chair-elect shall become a voting member of the management board one year prior to taking the office of chair, and the retiring officers shall continue as members of the management board until one week after the beginning of the next year's annual meeting.


 

GSA Councilors

Chuck Bailey
Mark Little


Membership

2,801 voting members of the Section as of December 2019.

Committees

The SE Section has (or has representatives on) the following committees:
Student Support Committee, Program Committee, Nominating Committee, Education Committee, Geology and Public Policy Committee, Campus Liaison Committee
 

Region

In the United States:

The states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

In Mexico:

The states of Campeche, Quintana Roo, and Yucatán.

*Note: Section boundaries were revised 24 April 2004 by GSA Council to add Puerto Rico. The affiliation of the state of Louisiana changed from the Southeastern Section to the South-Central Section in 1997.