IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
9066033CORDILLERANC5/14/20215/14/20221ChairCRachel Teasdalerteasdale@csuchico.eduCalifornia State Univ - Chico Geological & Environmental Sciences(530) 898-5547
9081510CORDILLERANPC5/14/20215/14/20226Past ChairPCRobinson Cecilrobinson.cecil@csun.eduCalifornia State University Northridge(818) 677-7009
9077828CORDILLERANVC5/14/20215/17/202212Vice-ChairVCScott E.K. Bennettscott.ek.bennett@gmail.com  
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202516SecretarySCalvin Glenn Barnescal.barnes@ttu.eduTexas Tech University(806) 928-1218
1219520NORTH-CENTRALC4/21/20214/20/20221ChairCCraig Dietschdietscc@ucmail.uc.eduUniv Cincinnati Dept Geology(513) 556-4203
1334566NORTH-CENTRALPC4/21/20215/5/20226Past ChairPCDouglas R. Gouzie, PGgouzie@sbcglobal.netMissouri State University Geology(417) 836-5228
9086603NORTH-CENTRALVC4/20/20214/8/202212Vice-ChairVCDaniel M. SturmerDaniel.Sturmer@uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati Department of Geology(513) 556-5705
1600278NORTH-CENTRALPVC4/20/20214/8/202213Past Vice-ChairPVCKevin L. Mickuskevinmickus@missouristate.eduMissouri State Univ Geology(417) 836-6375
9077957NORTH-CENTRALS-T4/20/20215/1/202517Secretary-TreasurerS-TTandis S. Bidgolibidgolit@missouri.edu (702) 321-9529
9292682NORTH-CENTRALSR4/20/20214/20/202381Student RepresentativeSRDonald Zachary Wormingtonzac0407@live.missouristate.edu  
9118109NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20206/1/2023126Member-at-LargeMLMelinda Catherine Higleymchigley@calvin.eduCalvin University Geology, Geography, Environmental(616) 526-6374
1981225NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20196/1/2022126Member-at-LargeMLMichael B. Wolfmichaelwolf@augustana.eduAugustana College Geology Dept(309) 794-7304
2004214NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20216/1/2024126Member-at-LargeMLWilliam S. Elliott, Jr.wselliott@usi.eduUniv Southern Indiana Dept Geology & Physics(812) 228-5053
2012760NORTHEASTERNPC3/17/20213/21/20226Past ChairPCSarah M. Principatosprincip@gettysburg.eduGettysburg College Department of Environmental Studies(717) 337-6079
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20133/21/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TDavid P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.edu (802) 443-3476
9091857NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2022126Member-at-LargeMLAmber T. H. Whittakeramberrockhawk@gmail.com (207) 287-2803
9170629NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2022126Member-at-LargeMLLaurie D. Grigglgrigg@norwich.eduNorwich University Earth and Environmental Sciences(802) 485-3322
9050462ROCKY_MTNC5/27/20215/17/20221ChairCBenjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University Department of Geosciences(701) 231-6197
9114362ROCKY_MTNPC5/27/20215/1/20226Past ChairPCSarah Wheeler Keenansarah.keenan@sdsmt.eduSouth Dakota School of Mines & Tech., Geology and Geological Engineering(605) 394-2461
9116526ROCKY_MTNCE6/1/20213/17/202211Chair-electCEElizabeth Ann Balgordbalgordea@gmail.comWeber State University Department of Geosciences(801) 626-6225
2009992ROCKY_MTNVC5/28/20215/18/202212Vice-ChairVCCal Rulemancruleman@usgs.gov (303) 236-7804
9268688ROCKY_MTNSR5/28/20215/18/202281Student RepresentativeSREmily Paige Nelsonemily.p.nelson@ndsu.edu (701) 680-3710
9276577ROCKY_MTNSR5/28/20215/18/202281Student RepresentativeSRMichael E. Cyriermikeycyrier@gmail.com (630) 363-5178
9082735ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20185/4/2022126Member-at-LargeMLAlexis K. Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University Department of Geosciences(757) 784-6452
9188858SOUTH-CENTRALC4/1/20214/1/20221ChairCMohamed Aly University of Arkansas 
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALVC4/1/20214/1/202212Vice-ChairVCJuan Luis Gonzálezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALS-T3/17/201210/12/202117Secretary-TreasurerS-TJay B. Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.com (501) 413-9363
9209372SOUTH-CENTRALSR4/15/20214/15/202281Student RepresentativeSRDavid Michael Houghdmhough@ualr.eduUALR 
9202721SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/2015 126Member-at-LargeMLAntonio Cardonahidrogeoquimica@gmail.comUniversidad Autonoma de SLP Facultad de Ingenieria(444) 826-2330
9085804SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/2019 126Member-at-LargeMLChu-Lin Chengclcheng@alumni.iastate.edu 5157084172
1990011SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/2018 126Member-at-LargeMLWendi J. W. Williamswwilliam@southtexascollege.eduSouth Texas CollegeDept of Physics/Geology(956) 872-8319
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/2014 126Member-at-LargeMLStephen K. Bosssboss@uark.eduDept of Geosciences, U. of Arkansas(479) 409-9857
2012026SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/2015 126Member-at-LargeMLAntony N. Gilesagiles@midland.eduMidland College Geology(432) 685-5580
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/2014 126Member-at-LargeMLTodd Halihantodd.halihan@okstate.eduSchool of Geology(405) 372-8611
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20194/20/2023126Member-at-LargeMLJuan Luis Gonzálezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
9188858SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/2018 126Member-at-LargeMLMohamed Aly University of Arkansas 
9146406SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/2015 126Member-at-LargeMLJonathan B. Sumrall, Ph.D.jbsumrall@fhsu.eduFort Hays State University(813) 240-1696
9083395SOUTHEASTERNC4/2/20214/1/20221ChairCScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
9152396SOUTHEASTERNPC4/2/20214/1/20226Past ChairPCColin D. Sumrallcsumrall@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee Earth and Planetary Sciences(865) 974-0400
9129125SOUTHEASTERNCE4/2/20214/1/202211Chair-electCEKatie Elizabeth Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843
9131752SOUTHEASTERNVC4/2/20214/1/202212Vice-ChairVCRebecca Freemanrebecca.freeman@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky Earth & Environmental Science(859) 257-6376
9055777SOUTHEASTERNPVC4/1/20214/8/202213Past Vice-ChairPVCBill Hameshameswe@auburn.eduAuburn University, Dept of Geology(334) 844-4890
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20164/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina UniversityProgram Study of Developed Shorelines(828) 227-2536
9245500SOUTHEASTERNSR7/1/20216/30/202281Student RepresentativeSRMiguel E. Valenciamvale095@fiu.eduFlorida International University 

About the Southeastern Section

Southeastern Section

The Southeastern Section was established in December 1947, but did not hold its first annual meeting until 1952. The GSA Foundation generously supports the activities of the Section and we ask that you, in turn, support the GSA Foundation. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2021-2022 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year, Vice-Chair—1 year, Secretary-Treasurer—1 year


 

Management Board

The management board shall be composed of the officers, the officers-elect, and the past officers of the Section. Council member(s) residing within the Section boundaries shall be ex officio members. The chairs of the Section committees (currently education, geology and public policy, liaison, and student support) shall be voting ex officio members. The vice-chair and secretary-treasurer-elect shall become members of the management board one week prior to the annual meeting start date. The chair-elect shall become a voting member of the management board one year prior to taking the office of chair, and the retiring officers shall continue as members of the management board until one week after the beginning of the next year's annual meeting.


 

GSA Councilors

Madeline Schreiber
Mark Little


Membership

2,777 voting members of the Section as of December 2020.

Committees

The SE Section has (or has representatives on) the following committees:
Student Support Committee, Program Committee, Nominating Committee, Education Committee, Geology and Public Policy Committee, Campus Liaison Committee
 

Region

In the United States:

The states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

In Mexico:

The states of Campeche, Quintana Roo, and Yucatán.

*Note: Section boundaries were revised 24 April 2004 by GSA Council to add Puerto Rico. The affiliation of the state of Louisiana changed from the Southeastern Section to the South-Central Section in 1997.