IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
1516035CORDILLERANC5/14/20195/14/20201ChairCJeffrey Leejeff@geology.cwu.eduCentral Washington University, Department of Geological Sciences(509) 963-2801
1953140CORDILLERANPC5/14/20195/14/20206Past ChairPCMichael L. Wellsmichael.wells@unlv.eduUniversity of Nevada, Las vegas(858) 243-4468
9081510CORDILLERANVC5/14/20195/14/202012Vice-ChairVCRobinson Cecilrobinson.cecil@csun.eduCalifornia State University Northridge(818) 677-7009
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202116SecretarySCalvin G. Barnescal.barnes@ttu.eduTexas Tech University(806) 834-7389
2010576NORTH-CENTRALC6/1/20196/1/20201ChairCAmy E. Myrboamyrbo@umn.eduLacCore, CSDCO; University of Minnesota(612) 624-3329
1650030NORTH-CENTRALPC6/1/20196/1/20206Past ChairPCTina M. Nieminiemit@umkc.eduUniversity of Missouri - Kansas City (816) 235-5342
1449342NORTH-CENTRALVC6/1/20196/1/202012Vice-ChairVCHarry M. Joljolhm@uwec.eduUniversity of Wisconsin - Eau Claire(715) 836-3472
9068110NORTH-CENTRALVC6/1/20196/1/202012Vice-ChairVCKaren B. Grankgran@d.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota Duluth(218) 726-7406
9083335NORTH-CENTRALPVC6/1/20196/1/202013Past Vice-ChairPVCJejung Leeleej@umkc.eduUniversity of Missouri - Kansas City(816) 235-6495
1968825NORTH-CENTRALS3/21/20175/1/202116SecretarySNancy S. Williamsgsanorthcentralsection@gmail.comMissouri State University(417) 496-2187
9184275NORTH-CENTRALSR5/16/20194/19/202181Student RepresentativeSRCollin Rolandcjroland@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin - Madison(214) 850-8391
9149789NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20186/1/2021126Member-at-LargeMLLucas Zoetlzoet@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison Geoscience(608) 262-1921
1194722NORTH-CENTRALML3/21/20175/19/2020126Member-at-LargeMLB. Brandon Currybcurry@illinois.eduUniv of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign(217) 359-1026
1981225NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20196/1/2021126Member-at-LargeMLMichael B. Wolfmichaelwolf@augustana.eduAugustana College Geology Dept(309) 794-7304
1101620NORTHEASTERNC3/18/20193/21/20201ChairCJulie Brigham-Grettejuliebg@geo.umass.eduUniversity of Massachusetts(413) 577-2270
1901692NORTHEASTERNPC3/19/20193/19/20206Past ChairPCPaul B. Tomascaktomascak@oswego.eduSUNY Oswego CLAS Dean(315) 312-2285
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20134/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TDavid P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.edu Middlebury College, Geology Department(802) 443-3476
2012082NORTHEASTERNML3/18/20183/21/2020126Member-at-LargeMLSean R. Cornellsrcornell@ship.eduShippensburg University Dept of Geography & Earth Science(717) 477-1310
9050769ROCKY_MTNC4/12/20195/4/20201ChairCDavid W. Marchettidmarchetti@western.eduWestern State Colorado University(970) 943-2367
9065189ROCKY_MTNPC4/12/20195/4/20206Past ChairPCThomas J. Williamstomw@uidaho.eduUniversity of Idaho, Geological Sciences(208) 885-6656
9114362ROCKY_MTNCE4/12/20195/4/202011Chair-electCESarah Wheeler Keenansarah.keenan@sdsmt.eduSouth Dakota School of Mines & Tech., Geology and Geological Engineering(605) 394-2461
2011274ROCKY_MTNVC6/1/20185/4/202012Vice-ChairVCHarland L. Goldsteinhgoldstein@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey (303) 236-5506
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/1/20176/30/202016SecretarySShannon Mahansmahan@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (303) 236-7928
9213948ROCKY_MTNSR4/12/20195/4/202081Student RepresentativeSRMichael Geoffrey FrothinghamMichael.Frothingham@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder  
9169954ROCKY_MTNSR4/12/20195/4/202081Student RepresentativeSRSylvia Rose Nicovichsylvia.nicovich@msu.montana.eduMontana State University(805) 458-2528
9082735ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20185/4/2020126Member-at-LargeMLAlexis K. Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University Department of Geology(757) 784-6452
9107420SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH3/28/20193/10/20202Co-ChairCOCHArne Max Erich Winguthawinguth@uta.eduUniversity of Texas at Arlington (817) 272-2977
9134609SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH3/28/20193/10/20202Co-ChairCOCHOmar R. HarveyOmar.Harvey@usm.eduTexas Christian University(601) 266-4529
2012242SOUTH-CENTRALPC3/28/20193/10/20206Past ChairPCMatthew F. Kirkmatthew.f.kirk@gmail.comKansas State University(505) 977-6628
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALS-T3/20/20128/20/201917Secretary-TreasurerS-TWm Jay Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.comUniversity of Arkansas Little Rock(501) 371-7613
9265384SOUTH-CENTRALSR3/28/20193/10/202081Student RepresentativeSRJordon Patrick Masseyjordmas@ostatemail.okstate.eduOklahoma State University BPSoG(269) 364-7623
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20143/18/2020126Member-at-LargeMLTodd Halihantodd.halihan@okstate.eduOklahoma State University School of Geology(405) 744-9248
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20143/19/2020126Member-at-LargeMLStephen K. Boss, Ph.D.sboss@uark.eduUniv Arkansas - Fayetteville Dept of Geosciences(479) 575-7134
9068219SOUTHEASTERNC3/30/20193/21/20201ChairCDavid B. Spearsdavid.spears@dmme.virginia.govDivision of Geology and Mineral Resources(434) 951-6350
9201874SOUTHEASTERNPC3/30/20193/21/20206Past ChairPCVenkataraman Lakshmivlakshmi@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia(434) 982-2052
9152396SOUTHEASTERNCE3/30/20193/21/202011Chair-electCEColin D. Sumrallcsumrall@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee Earth and Planetary Sciences(865) 974-0400
9054599SOUTHEASTERNVC3/30/20193/21/202012Vice-ChairVCArthur James Merschatamerschat@usgs.govUSGS(865) 207-2857
9083395SOUTHEASTERNPVC3/30/20193/21/202013Past Vice-ChairPVCScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20164/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University(828) 227-2536
9181791SOUTHEASTERNSR4/14/20183/21/202081Student RepresentativeSRAlexandra Nagurneynagurney@vt.eduVirginia Tech Department of Geosciences 

About the Rocky Mountain Section

Rocky Mountain Section

The Rocky Mountain Section has been a thriving part of The Geological Society of America since 1948. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2019-2020 Section Officers

Terms: Chair, Past Chair, Chair-elect, and Vice-Chair—1 year; Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the section officers and one voting member appointed by the chair.



GPPC Representatives

Matthew J. Kohn
Boise State University
(208) 426-2757
mattkohn@boisestate.edu


GSA Councilors

Ed Harvey
Marjorie Chan


 

Membership

3,930 voting members of the Section as of December 2018.

Region

In the United States:

The states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and that part of Arizona north of 35 degrees North Latitude.

In Canada:

The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

In Mexico:

The state of Chihuahua.