IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
9077828CORDILLERANC5/18/20225/19/20231ChairCScott E.K. Bennettsekbennett@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey 
9066033CORDILLERANPC5/14/20225/14/20236Past ChairPCRachel Teasdalerteasdale@csuchico.eduCalifornia State Univ - ChicoGeological & Environmental Sciences(530) 898-5547
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202516SecretarySCalvin Glenn Barnescal.barnes@ttu.eduTexas Tech 
1219520NORTH-CENTRALC4/21/20215/30/20221ChairCDr. Craig Dietschdietscc@ucmail.uc.eduUniv Cincinnati Dept Geosciences(513) 556-4203
1334566NORTH-CENTRALPC4/21/20215/30/20226Past ChairPCDouglas R. Gouzie, PGgouzie@sbcglobal.netMissouri State University- Geology(417) 836-5228
9066839NORTH-CENTRALVC4/8/20224/20/202312Vice-ChairVCTara A. Kneeshawkneeshta@gvsu.eduGrand Valley State UniversityGeology(616) 331-8996
9077957NORTH-CENTRALS4/20/20215/1/202516SecretarySDr. Tandis S. Bidgolibidgolit@missouri.eduUniversity of Missouri(573) 882-7424
9292682NORTH-CENTRALSR4/20/20214/20/202381Student RepresentativeSRMr. Donald Zachary Wormington  (417) 495-0086
9118109NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20206/1/2023126Member-at-LargeMLMelinda Catherine Higleymchigley@calvin.eduCalvin University(616) 526-6374
1981225NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20196/1/2022126Member-at-LargeMLMichael B. Wolfmichaelwolf@augustana.eduAugustana College Geology Dept(309) 794-7304
2004214NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20216/1/2024126Member-at-LargeMLWilliam S. Elliott, Jr.wselliott@usi.eduUniv Southern Indiana Dept Geology & Physics(812) 228-5053
2012760NORTHEASTERNC3/22/20205/30/20221ChairCSarah M. Principatosprincip@gettysburg.eduGettysburg College(717) 337-6079
1101620NORTHEASTERNPC3/22/20205/30/20226Past ChairPCJulie Brigham-Grettejuliebg@geo.umass.eduUniversity of Massachusetts - Amherst(413) 330-5623
2001605NORTHEASTERNVC3/22/20205/30/202212Vice-ChairVCHowell Bosbyshellhbosbyshell@wcupa.eduWest Chester University(610) 436-2805
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20135/30/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TDavid P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.eduMiddlebury College(802) 443-3476
9170629NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20205/30/2022126Member-at-LargeMLLaurie D. Grigglgrigg@norwich.eduNorwich University Earth and Environmental Sciences(802) 485-3322
9091857NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2023126Member-at-LargeMLAmber T. H. Whittakeramberrockhawk@gmail.com (207) 287-2803
9050462ROCKY_MTNC5/27/20217/5/20221ChairCBenjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University(701) 231-6197
9050462ROCKY_MTNPC5/17/20225/10/20236Past ChairPCBenjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University(701) 231-6197
9114362ROCKY_MTNPC5/27/20217/5/20226Past ChairPCSarah Wheeler Keenansarah.keenan@sdsmt.eduSouth Dakota School of Mines(605) 394-2461
9116526ROCKY_MTNCE6/1/20217/5/202211Chair-electCELiz Balgordelizabethbalgord@weber.eduWeber State University(801) 626-6225
2009992ROCKY_MTNVC5/28/20217/5/202212Vice-ChairVCCal Rulemancruleman@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey(303) 236-7804
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/1/20177/5/202216SecretarySShannon Mahanfiftyisntold@gmail.comUS Geological Survey(303) 236-7928
9268688ROCKY_MTNSR5/28/20217/5/202281Student RepresentativeSREmily Paige Nelsonemily.p.nelson@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University(701) 680-3710
9276577ROCKY_MTNSR5/28/20217/5/202281Student RepresentativeSRMichael E. Cyriermikeycyrier@gmail.com (630) 363-5178
9082735ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20187/5/2022126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Alexis Katherine Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University(757) 784-6452
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALC4/1/20224/1/20231ChairCTodd HalihanTODD.HALIHAN@OKSTATE.EDUOklahoma State University(405) 744-6358
9085804SOUTH-CENTRALPC4/1/20224/1/20236Past ChairPCChu-Lin Chengchulin.cheng@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley(956) 664-2464
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALPC4/1/20224/1/20236Past ChairPCJuan Luis Gonzalezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande ValleySchool of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
9082526SOUTH-CENTRALS10/13/202110/21/202516SecretarySMichael T. DeAngelismtdeangelis@ualr.eduUniversity of Arkansas at Little Rock(501) 916-5761
2012026SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/2015 126Member-at-LargeMLAntony N. Gilesagiles@midland.eduMidland College Geology(432) 685-5580
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20194/20/2023126Member-at-LargeMLJuan Luis Gonzalezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande ValleySchool of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
9085804SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/2019 126Member-at-LargeMLChu-Lin Chengchulin.cheng@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley(956) 664-2464
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/2014 126Member-at-LargeMLTodd HalihanTODD.HALIHAN@OKSTATE.EDUOklahoma State University(405) 744-6358
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/2014 126Member-at-LargeMLStephen K. Bosssboss@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas(479) 409-9857
1990011SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/2018 126Member-at-LargeMLWendi J. W. Williams, Ph.D.wwilliam@southtexascollege.eduSouth Texas CollegePhysical Sciences and Engineering(956) 872-8319
9188858SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/2018 126Member-at-LargeMLMohamed Aly University of Arkansas 
9202721SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/2015 126Member-at-LargeMLAntonio Cardonahidrogeoquimica@gmail.comUniversidad Autonoma de SLP Facultad de Ingenieria(444) 826-2330
9146406SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/2015 126Member-at-LargeMLJonathan B. Sumralljbsumrall@fhsu.edu (813) 240-1696
9129125SOUTHEASTERNC4/2/20224/1/20231ChairCKatherine Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843
9083395SOUTHEASTERNPC4/2/20224/1/20236Past ChairPCScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
9055777SOUTHEASTERNCE4/1/20225/1/202311Chair-electCEBill Hameshameswe@auburn.eduAuburn University, Dept of Geology(334) 844-4890
9054599SOUTHEASTERNVC4/1/20225/1/202312Vice-ChairVCDr. Arthur James Merschatamerschat@usgs.govUSGS(865) 207-2857
9131752SOUTHEASTERNPVC4/2/20224/1/202313Past Vice-ChairPVCDr. Rebecca Freemanrebecca.freeman@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky Earth & Environmental Science(859) 257-6376
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20165/30/202317Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina UniversityProgram Study of Developed Shorelines(828) 227-2536
9245500SOUTHEASTERNSR7/1/20216/30/202281Student RepresentativeSRMiguel E. Valenciamvale095@fiu.eduFlorida International University 

About the Rocky Mountain Section

Rocky Mountain Section

The Rocky Mountain Section has been a thriving part of The Geological Society of America since 1948. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2021-2022 Section Officers

Terms: Chair, Past Chair, Chair-elect, and Vice-Chair—1 year; Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the section officers and one voting member appointed by the chair.



GPPC Representatives

Matthew J. Kohn
Boise State University
(208) 426-2757
mattkohn@boisestate.edu


GSA Councilors

Ed Harvey
Marjorie Chan


 

Membership

3,875 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2021.

Region

In the United States:

The states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and that part of Arizona north of 35 degrees North Latitude.

In Canada:

The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

In Mexico:

The state of Chihuahua.