IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
9066033CORDILLERANC5/14/20215/14/20221ChairCRachel Teasdalerteasdale@csuchico.eduCalifornia State Univ - ChicoGeological & Environmental Sciences(530) 898-5547
9081510CORDILLERANPC5/14/20215/14/20226Past ChairPCRobinson Cecilrobinson.cecil@csun.eduCSU-Northridge(818) 677-7009
9077828CORDILLERANVC5/14/20215/17/202212Vice-ChairVCScott E.K. Bennett, Ph.D.sekbennett@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey 
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202516SecretarySCalvin Glenn Barnescal.barnes@ttu.edu (806) 928-1218
1219520NORTH-CENTRALC4/21/20214/20/20221ChairCCraig Dietschdietscc@ucmail.uc.eduUniv Cincinnati Dept Geology(513) 556-4203
1334566NORTH-CENTRALPC4/21/20215/5/20226Past ChairPCDouglas R. Gouzie, PGgouzie@sbcglobal.netMissouri State University Geology(417) 836-5228
9086603NORTH-CENTRALVC4/20/20214/8/202212Vice-ChairVCDaniel M. SturmerDaniel.Sturmer@uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati(513) 556-5705
1600278NORTH-CENTRALPVC4/20/20214/8/202213Past Vice-ChairPVCKevin L. Mickuskevinmickus@missouristate.eduMissouri State UnivGeology(417) 836-6375
9077957NORTH-CENTRALS4/20/20215/1/202516SecretarySTandis S. Bidgolibidgolit@missouri.eduUniversity of Missouri - Geological Sciences(702) 321-9529
9292682NORTH-CENTRALSR4/20/20214/20/202381Student RepresentativeSRDonald Zachary Wormingtonzac0407@live.missouristate.eduMissouri State University417-459-0086
9118109NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20206/1/2023126Member-at-LargeMLMelinda Catherine Higleymchigley@calvin.eduCalvin University Geology, Geography, Environmental(616) 526-6374
1981225NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20196/1/2022126Member-at-LargeMLMichael B. Wolfmichaelwolf@augustana.eduAugustana College Geology Dept(309) 794-7304
2004214NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20216/1/2024126Member-at-LargeMLWilliam S. Elliott, Jr.wselliott@usi.eduUniv Southern Indiana Dept Geology & Physics(812) 228-5053
2012760NORTHEASTERNPC3/17/20213/21/20226Past ChairPCSarah M. Principatosprincip@gettysburg.eduGettysburg College Department of Environmental Studies(717) 337-6079
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20133/21/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TDavid P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.edu (802) 443-3476
9091857NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2022126Member-at-LargeMLAmber T. H. Whittakeramberrockhawk@gmail.com (207) 287-2803
9170629NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2022126Member-at-LargeMLLaurie D. Grigglgrigg@norwich.eduNorwich University Earth and Environmental Sciences(802) 485-3322
9050462ROCKY_MTNC5/27/20215/17/20221ChairCBenjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduDepartment of Geosciences 1340 Bolley Dr.(701) 231-6197
9114362ROCKY_MTNPC5/27/20215/1/20226Past ChairPCSarah Wheeler Keenansarah.keenan@sdsmt.eduSouth Dakota School of Mines & Tech.,(605) 394-2461
9116526ROCKY_MTNCE6/1/20213/17/202211Chair-electCEElizabeth Ann Balgordbalgordea@gmail.comWeber State University(801) 626-6225
2009992ROCKY_MTNVC5/28/20215/18/202212Vice-ChairVCCal Rulemancruleman@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey(303) 236-7804
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/1/20176/30/202216SecretarySShannon Mahanfiftyisntold@gmail.comUS Geological Survey(303) 236-7928
9268688ROCKY_MTNSR5/28/20215/18/202281Student RepresentativeSREmily Paige Nelsonemily.p.nelson@ndsu.edu (701) 680-3710
9276577ROCKY_MTNSR5/28/20215/18/202281Student RepresentativeSRMichael E. Cyriermikeycyrier@gmail.comSouth Dakota School of Mines and Technology(630) 363-5178
9082735ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20185/4/2022126Member-at-LargeMLAlexis K. Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University Department of Geosciences(757) 784-6452
9188858SOUTH-CENTRALC4/1/20214/1/20221ChairCMohamed Aly University of Arkansas 
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALVC4/1/20214/1/202212Vice-ChairVCJuan Luis Gonzalezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande ValleySchool of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
9209372SOUTH-CENTRALSR4/15/20214/15/202281Student RepresentativeSRDavid Michael Houghdmhough@ualr.eduUALR 
9202721SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/2015 126Member-at-LargeMLAntonio Cardonahidrogeoquimica@gmail.comUniversidad Autonoma de SLP Facultad de Ingenieria(444) 826-2330
9188858SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/2018 126Member-at-LargeMLMohamed Aly University of Arkansas 
9085804SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/2019 126Member-at-LargeMLChu-Lin Chengclcheng@alumni.iastate.edu 5157084172
9146406SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/2015 126Member-at-LargeMLJonathan B. Sumralljbsumrall@fhsu.edu (813) 240-1696
2012026SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/2015 126Member-at-LargeMLAntony N. Gilesagiles@midland.eduMidland College Geology(432) 685-5580
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/2014 126Member-at-LargeMLTodd Halihantodd.halihan@okstate.eduSchool of Geology(405) 744-6358
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20194/20/2023126Member-at-LargeMLJuan Luis Gonzalezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande ValleySchool of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
1990011SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/2018 126Member-at-LargeMLWendi J.W. J. W. Williamswwilliam@southtexascollege.eduSouth Texas College Physical Sciences and Engineering(956) 872-8319
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/2014 126Member-at-LargeMLStephen K. Bosssboss@uark.edu (479) 409-9857
9083395SOUTHEASTERNC4/2/20214/1/20221ChairCScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
9152396SOUTHEASTERNPC4/2/20214/1/20226Past ChairPCColin D. Sumrallcsumrall@utk.eduUniversity of TennesseeEarth and Planetary Sciences(865) 974-0400
9129125SOUTHEASTERNCE4/2/20214/1/202211Chair-electCEKatie Elizabeth Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843
9131752SOUTHEASTERNVC4/2/20214/1/202212Vice-ChairVCRebecca Freemanrebecca.freeman@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky Earth & Environmental Science(859) 257-6376
9055777SOUTHEASTERNPVC4/1/20214/8/202213Past Vice-ChairPVCBill Hameshameswe@auburn.eduAuburn University, Dept of Geology(334) 844-4890
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20164/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University Program Study of Developed Shorelines(828) 227-2536
9245500SOUTHEASTERNSR7/1/20216/30/202281Student RepresentativeSRMiguel E. Valenciamvale095@fiu.eduFlorida International University 

About the Rocky Mountain Section

Rocky Mountain Section

The Rocky Mountain Section has been a thriving part of The Geological Society of America since 1948. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2020-2021 Section Officers

Terms: Chair, Past Chair, Chair-elect, and Vice-Chair—1 year; Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the section officers and one voting member appointed by the chair.



GPPC Representatives

Matthew J. Kohn
Boise State University
(208) 426-2757
mattkohn@boisestate.edu


GSA Councilors

Ed Harvey
Marjorie Chan


 

Membership

3,985 voting members of the Section as of December 2020.

Region

In the United States:

The states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and that part of Arizona north of 35 degrees North Latitude.

In Canada:

The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

In Mexico:

The state of Chihuahua.