IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
1932678CORDILLERANC5/17/20245/30/20251ChairCDr. John Wakabayashijohnwako@sbcglobal.netCalifornia State University, Fresno(559) 278-6459
9104838CORDILLERANPC6/1/20245/30/20256Past ChairPCDr. JAY Chapmanjbchapmanv@utep.eduUniversity of Texas at El Paso(520) 429-9713
9100284CORDILLERANVC6/3/20245/30/202512Vice-ChairVCElisa Fitz-Díazelisaf@geologia.unam.mxUNAM52-55 5622 4324
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202516SecretarySDr. Calvin G. Barnescal.barnes@ttu.eduTexas Tech 
9232976CORDILLERANSR6/3/20245/4/202581Student RepresentativeSRJavaria Azizjavariaaziz@yahoo.comPortland State University, Department of Geology 
9066839NORTH-CENTRALPC4/21/20244/23/20256Past ChairPCTara A. Kneeshawkneeshta@gvsu.eduGrand Valley State University(616) 331-8996
9241369NORTH-CENTRALS4/24/20245/31/202816SecretarySJames L. Berglundberglundjam@uwplatt.eduUniversity of Wisconsin -Platteville(507) 313-6087
9224849NORTH-CENTRALSR5/8/20235/30/202581Student RepresentativeSRMr. Ezekiel King Phillipskingphej@mail.uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati, Department of Geosciences 
9141424NORTH-CENTRALML5/8/20235/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Stuart Michael Kenderesskenderes@gmail.com  
9085814NORTH-CENTRALML5/8/20235/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. James Joseph Zambito, IVzambitoj@beloit.eduBeloit College, Department of Geology(608) 363-2223
9086603NORTH-CENTRALML4/24/20245/31/2027126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Daniel M. SturmerDaniel.Sturmer@uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati Geosciences(513) 556-5705
2001605NORTHEASTERNPC7/1/20236/30/20246Past ChairPCDr. Howell Bosbyshellhbosbyshell@wcupa.eduWest Chester University(610) 436-2805
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20136/30/202617Secretary-TreasurerS-TDr. David P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.eduMiddlebury College(802) 443-3476
2002643NORTHEASTERNML7/1/20226/30/2024126Member-at-LargeMLMs. Michelle J. Markleymmarkley@mtholyoke.eduMount Holyoke College Geology & Geogra 
9131751ROCKY_MTNC6/1/20245/20/20251ChairCEmily J. Kleberekleber@utah.govUtah Geological Survey(801) 537-3380
9100751ROCKY_MTNPC6/1/20245/20/20256Past ChairPCDr. David M. Pearsonpeardavi@isu.eduIdaho State University(208) 282-3486
9118218ROCKY_MTNCE6/3/20245/20/202511Chair-electCEJohn Selwyn Singletonjohn.singleton@colostate.eduColorado State University 
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/30/20227/29/202616SecretarySShannon Mahanfiftyisntold@gmail.comUS Geological Survey(303) 236-7928
9309302ROCKY_MTNGRADSTU8/10/20235/30/202581Graduate Student RepresentativeGRADSTUMrs. Kristen Elizabeth Smithkrstnwolf92@gmail.comBrigham Young University- Provo 
9318775ROCKY_MTNUNGDSTREP8/14/20235/30/202581Undergraduate Student RepresentativeUNGDSTREPMichael Tiago Heebnermichaeltiagoheebn@isu.eduIdaho State Univ, Geology(208) 236-3111
9082735ROCKY_MTNML7/30/20227/29/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Alexis Katherine Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University(757) 784-6452
9050462ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20235/30/2025126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Benjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University(303) 579-2174
2009963SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH4/24/20243/11/20252Co-ChairCOCHMr. Scott Marvin Ausbrooksscott.ausbrooks@arkansas.govOffice of the State Geologist - Arkansas Department of Energy & Environment(501) 296-1882
9116880SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH4/24/20243/11/20252Co-ChairCOCHAngela Chandlerangela.chandler@arkansas.govOffice of the State Geologist(501) 683-0111
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALPC4/24/20243/11/20256Past ChairPCProf. Mohamed Aly, Ph.D.aly@uark.eduDepartment of Geosciences, University of Arkansas(479) 575-3185
9082526SOUTH-CENTRALS10/13/202110/21/202516SecretarySMichael T. DeAngelismtdeangelis@ualr.eduUniversity of Arkansas at Little Rock(501) 916-5761
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20225/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLProf. Jay B. Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.comUALR(501) 413-9363
1990011SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20184/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Wendi J. W. Williamswwilliam@southtexascollege.eduSouth Texas College(956) 872-8319
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20215/1/2025126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Stephen K. Bosssboss@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas(479) 409-9857
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20224/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLProf. Mohamed Aly, Ph.D.aly@uark.eduDepartment of Geosciences, University of Arkansas(479) 575-3185
9116549SOUTH-CENTRALML3/13/20245/31/2028126Member-at-LargeMLJuan Alonso Ramirez Fernandezalonso_fct@hotmail.com (821) 211-0138
9131752SOUTHEASTERNC4/23/20243/28/20251ChairCDr. Rebecca Freemanrebecca.freeman@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky Earth & Environ(859) 257-6376
9054599SOUTHEASTERNCE4/17/20243/28/202511Chair-electCEDr. Arthur James Merschatamerschat@usgs.govUSGS(865) 207-2857
1521935SOUTHEASTERNVC4/17/20243/28/202512Vice-ChairVCDr. Stephen A. Leslielesliesa@jmu.eduJames Madison University(540) 568-6130
9129125SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/22/20233/28/202517Secretary-TreasurerS-TKatherine Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843

About the North-Central Section

North-Central Section

In 1966, the North-Central Section was established by the Council of the Geological Society of America to expand section coverage for all of the United States and Canada. Please explore the links at right to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2023-2024 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year; Vice-Chair—1 year; Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the officers of the Section, the immediate past chair, the immediate past vice-chair, the past secretary for the first year after his or her term(s) of office end(s), any member of the GSA Council who is also a voting member of the Section, and three voting members of the Section elected at large.


 

Membership

2,140 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2023.

Region

In the United States:

The states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

In Canada:

The Province of Manitoba, and the western portion of the Province of Ontario (west of the 89th meridian).