IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
9081510CORDILLERANC5/14/20205/14/20211ChairCRobinson Cecilrobinson.cecil@csun.eduCalifornia State University Northridge(818) 677-7009
1516035CORDILLERANPC5/14/20205/14/20216Past ChairPCJeffrey Leelee1@mines.eduColorado School of Mines Geophysics. Green Center Rm 283(509) 963-2801
9066033CORDILLERANVC5/14/20205/14/202112Vice-ChairVCRachel Teasdalerteasdale@csuchico.eduCalifornia State Univ - Chico Geological & Environmental Sciences(530) 898-5547
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202116SecretarySCalvin Glenn Barnescal.barnes@ttu.edu (806) 928-1218
1334566NORTH-CENTRALC5/20/20204/20/20211ChairCDouglas R. Gouzie, PGdouglasgouzie@missouristate.eduMissouri State University Geology(417) 836-5228
9068110NORTH-CENTRALPC5/19/20204/20/20216Past ChairPCKaren B. Grankgran@d.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota Duluth(218) 726-7406
1600278NORTH-CENTRALVC5/19/20204/20/202112Vice-ChairVCKevin L. Mickuskevinmickus@missouristate.eduMissouri State Univ Geology(417) 836-6375
1449342NORTH-CENTRALPVC6/2/20204/20/202113Past Vice-ChairPVCHarry M. Joljolhm@uwec.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Dept of Geography and Anthropology(715) 836-3472
1968825NORTH-CENTRALS3/21/20175/1/202116SecretarySNancy S. Williamsgsanorthcentralsection@gmail.com953 East Linwood Drive(417) 496-2187
9184275NORTH-CENTRALSR5/16/20194/19/202181Student RepresentativeSRCollin Rolandcjroland@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin - Madison(214) 850-8391
9149789NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20186/1/2021126Member-at-LargeMLLucas Zoetlzoet@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison Geoscience(608) 262-1921
1981225NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20196/1/2022126Member-at-LargeMLMichael B. Wolfmichaelwolf@augustana.eduAugustana College Geology Dept(309) 794-7304
9118109NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20206/1/2023126Member-at-LargeMLMelinda Catherine Higleymchigley@calvin.eduCalvin University Geology, Geography, Environmental(616) 526-6374
2012760NORTHEASTERNC3/22/20203/16/20211ChairCSarah M. Principatosprincip@gettysburg.eduGettysburg College Department of Environmental Studies(717) 337-6079
1101620NORTHEASTERNPC3/22/20203/16/20216Past ChairPCJulie Brigham-Grettejuliebg@geo.umass.edu627 N. Pleasant Street, Morrill BDLG Geosciences Univ of Massachusetts(413) 545-4840
2001605NORTHEASTERNVC3/22/20203/16/202112Vice-ChairVCHowell Bosbyshellhbosbyshell@wcupa.eduWest Chester University(610) 436-2805
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20133/21/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TDavid P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.eduMiddlebury College, Geology Department(802) 443-3476
9091857NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2022126Member-at-LargeMLAmber T. H. Whittakeramberrockhawk@gmail.com (207) 287-2803
9170629NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2022126Member-at-LargeMLLaurie D. Grigglgrigg@norwich.eduNorwich Universityl Department of Earth and Environme(802) 485-3322
9114362ROCKY_MTNC5/5/20205/26/20211ChairCSarah Wheeler Keenansarah.keenan@sdsmt.eduSouth Dakota School of Mines & Tech., Geology and Geological Engineering(605) 394-2461
9050769ROCKY_MTNPC5/5/20205/31/20216Past ChairPCDavid W. Marchettidmarchetti@western.eduWestern Colorado University(970) 943-2367
9050462ROCKY_MTNCE5/5/20205/27/202111Chair-electCEBenjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University Department of Geosciences(701) 231-6197
2011274ROCKY_MTNVC5/5/20205/27/202112Vice-ChairVCHarland L. Goldsteinhgoldstein@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey(303) 236-5506
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/1/20176/30/202116SecretarySShannon Mahansmahan@usgs.govUS Geological Survey(303) 236-7928
9252075ROCKY_MTNSR5/5/20205/17/202281Student RepresentativeSRGrace DeVaultgrace.devault@mines.sdsmt.edu  
9082735ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20185/4/2022126Member-at-LargeMLAlexis K. Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University Department of Geosciences(757) 784-6452
9188858SOUTH-CENTRALC9/24/201910/27/20201ChairCMohamed Alyaly@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas 
9134609SOUTH-CENTRALPC9/24/201910/27/20206Past ChairPCOmar R. Harveyomar.harvey@tcu.eduTexas Christian University Geological Sciences(817) 257-2424
9085804SOUTH-CENTRALVC9/24/201910/27/202012Vice-ChairVCChu-Lin Chengclcheng@alumni.iastate.edu 5157084172
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALS-T3/20/20128/20/202117Secretary-TreasurerS-TWm Jay Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.com (501) 371-7613
2012026SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLAntony N. Gilesagiles@midland.eduMidland College Geology(432) 685-5580
9085804SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLChu-Lin Chengclcheng@alumni.iastate.edu 5157084172
9146406SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLJonathan B. Sumrall, Ph.D.jbsumrall@fhsu.eduFort Hays State University(813) 240-1696
9082526SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20194/20/2021126Member-at-LargeMLMichael T. DeAngelismtdeangelis@ualr.eduUniversity of Arkansas at Little Rock Earth Sciences(501) 569-3542
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20194/20/2023126Member-at-LargeMLJuan Luis Gonzálezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
9188858SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/201810/12/2021126Member-at-LargeMLMohamed Alyaly@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas 
9152396SOUTHEASTERNC3/22/20204/1/20211ChairCColin D. Sumrallcsumrall@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee Earth and Planetary Sciences(865) 974-0400
9068219SOUTHEASTERNPC3/22/20204/1/20216Past ChairPCDavid B. Spearsdavid.spears@dmme.virginia.govDivision of Geology and Mineral Resour(434) 951-6350
9083395SOUTHEASTERNCE3/22/20204/1/202111Chair-electCEScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
9054599SOUTHEASTERNPVC3/22/20204/1/202113Past Vice-ChairPVCArthur James Merschatamerschat@usgs.govUSGS(865) 207-2857
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20164/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University Program Study of Developed Shorelines(828) 227-2536

About the North-Central Section

North-Central Section

In 1966, the North-Central Section was established by the Council of the Geological Society of America to expand section coverage for all of the United States and Canada. Please explore the links at right to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2020-2021 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year; Vice-Chair—1 year; Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the officers of the Section, the immediate past chair, the immediate past vice-chair, the past secretary for the first year after his or her term(s) of office end(s), any member of the GSA Council who is also a voting member of the Section, and three voting members of the Section elected at large.


 

Membership

3,001 voting members of the Section as of December 2019.

Region

In the United States:

The states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

In Canada:

The Province of Manitoba, and the western portion of the Province of Ontario (west of the 89th meridian).