IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
9077828CORDILLERANC5/18/20225/19/20231ChairCScott E.K. Bennettsekbennett@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey 
9066033CORDILLERANPC5/14/20225/14/20236Past ChairPCRachel Teasdalerteasdale@csuchico.eduCalifornia State Univ, Chico Earth & Environmental Sciences(530) 898-5547
9104838CORDILLERANVC4/21/20225/15/202312Vice-ChairVCJAMES B. Chapman, Vjbchapmanv@utep.eduUniversity of Texas at El Paso(520) 429-9713
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202516SecretarySDr. Calvin G. Barnescal.barnes@ttu.edu  
9086603NORTH-CENTRALC5/16/20225/15/20231ChairCDr. Daniel M. SturmerDaniel.Sturmer@uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati Geosciences(513) 556-5705
1219520NORTH-CENTRALPC5/30/20224/20/20236Past ChairPCDr. Craig Dietschdietscc@ucmail.uc.eduUniv Cincinnati Dept Geosciences(513) 556-4203
9066839NORTH-CENTRALVC4/8/20224/20/202312Vice-ChairVCTara A. Kneeshawkneeshta@gvsu.eduGrand Valley State UniversityGeology(616) 331-8996
9077957NORTH-CENTRALS4/20/20215/1/202516SecretarySDr. Tandis S. Bidgolitandis.bidgoli@csusb.eduCalifornia State University, San Bernardino 
9292682NORTH-CENTRALSR4/20/20214/20/202381Student RepresentativeSRMr. Donald Zachary Wormington  (417) 495-0086
9118109NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20206/1/2023126Member-at-LargeMLMelinda Catherine Higleymchigley@calvin.eduCalvin University(616) 526-6374
2004214NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20216/1/2024126Member-at-LargeMLWilliam S. Elliott, Jr.wselliott@usi.eduUniv Southern Indiana Dept Geology & Physics(812) 228-5053
2001605NORTHEASTERNC7/1/20226/30/20231ChairCDr. Howell Bosbyshellhbosbyshell@wcupa.eduWest Chester University(610) 436-2805
2012760NORTHEASTERNPC7/1/20223/21/20236Past ChairPCSarah M. Principatosprincip@gettysburg.eduGettysburg College(717) 337-6079
9068885NORTHEASTERNVC7/1/20226/30/202312Vice-ChairVCNancy A. Pricenapricegeo@gmail.comCenter for Earth & Environmental Scien(240) 542-8508
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20136/30/202617Secretary-TreasurerS-TDr. David P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.eduMiddlebury College(802) 443-3476
2002643NORTHEASTERNML7/1/20226/30/2024126Member-at-LargeMLMichelle J. Markleymmarkley@mtholyoke.eduMount Holyoke College Geology & Geography 
9091857NORTHEASTERNML3/22/20203/21/2023126Member-at-LargeMLAmber T. H. Whittakeramberrockhawk@gmail.com (207) 287-2803
9116526ROCKY_MTNC7/30/20227/29/20231ChairCLiz Balgordelizabethbalgord@weber.eduWeber State University(801) 626-6225
9050462ROCKY_MTNPC7/30/20227/29/20236Past ChairPCDr. Benjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University(701) 231-6197
9100751ROCKY_MTNCE7/30/20227/29/202311Chair-electCEDr. David M. Pearsonpeardavi@isu.eduIdaho State University(208) 282-3486
2009992ROCKY_MTNVC7/30/20227/29/202312Vice-ChairVCCal Rulemancruleman@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey(303) 236-7804
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/30/20227/29/202616SecretarySShannon Mahanfiftyisntold@gmail.comUS Geological Survey(303) 236-7928
9301770ROCKY_MTNSR7/30/20227/29/202381Student RepresentativeSRLaura Wilcocklaurawilcock@mail.weber.eduWeber State(209) 535-5872
9082735ROCKY_MTNML7/30/20227/29/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Alexis Katherine Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University(757) 784-6452
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALC4/1/20224/1/20231ChairCDr. Todd HalihanTODD.HALIHAN@OKSTATE.EDUOklahoma State University(405) 744-6358
9074245SOUTH-CENTRALPC4/1/20224/1/20236Past ChairPCJuan Luis Gonzalezjuan.l.gonzalez@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande ValleySchool of Earth,Environmental & Marine(956) 665-3523
9085804SOUTH-CENTRALPC4/1/20224/1/20236Past ChairPCChu-Lin Chengchulin.cheng@utrgv.eduUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley(956) 664-2464
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALVC4/1/20224/30/202312Vice-ChairVCMohamed Alyaly@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas Geosciences(479) 575-3185
9082526SOUTH-CENTRALS10/13/202110/21/202516SecretarySMichael T. DeAngelismtdeangelis@ualr.eduUniversity of Arkansas at Little Rock(501) 916-5761
9249566SOUTH-CENTRALML4/30/20194/30/2023126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Antonio Cardona benavidesacardona@uaslp.mxUniversidad Autonoma de San Luis Potos Earth Science(444) 826-2330
2012026SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20155/1/2023126Member-at-LargeMLMr. Antony Norman Gilesagiles@midland.eduMidland College14322145358
1990011SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20184/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLWendi J. W. Williams, Ph.D.wwilliam@southtexascollege.eduSouth Texas CollegePhysical Sciences and Engineering(956) 872-8319
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20225/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLProf. Jay B. Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.com314 N Walnut St.(501) 413-9363
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20215/1/2025126Member-at-LargeMLStephen K. Bosssboss@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas(479) 409-9857
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20224/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLMohamed Alyaly@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas Geosciences(479) 575-3185
9129125SOUTHEASTERNC4/2/20224/1/20231ChairCMs. Katherine Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843
9083395SOUTHEASTERNPC4/2/20224/1/20236Past ChairPCScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
9055777SOUTHEASTERNCE4/1/20225/1/202311Chair-electCEBill Hameshameswe@auburn.eduAuburn University, Dept of Geology(334) 844-4890
9131752SOUTHEASTERNPVC4/2/20224/1/202313Past Vice-ChairPVCDr. Rebecca Freemanrebecca.freeman@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky Earth & Environ(859) 257-6376
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20165/30/202317Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University(828) 227-2536

About the Cordilleran Section

Cordilleran Section

The Cordilleran Section is the oldest of GSA's sections. It was formally approved on 26 August 1901, when the Society itself was only 13 years old. The first organizational meeting of the Section, held in Berkeley, California, in 1899, included the presentation of 11 scientific papers. Please explore the links at right to learn about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2022-2023 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year; Vice-Chair— 1 year; Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the Section officers, the Section chair for the preceding year, and two voting members of GSA, one selected by the Seismological Society of America, and one by the Pacific Coast Section of the Paleontological Society to serve as councilors for one year.


 

GSA Councilors

Nathan Niemi
Jeff Rubin
Wendy Bohrson


Pacific Coast Section of the Paleontological Society

Stephen Schellenberg
San Diego State University
+1-619-594-1039
schellenberg@geology.sdsu.edu


Membership

5,608 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2021.

Region

In the United States:

The states of Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and that part of Arizona south of 35 degrees North Latitude.

In Canada:

The Province of British Columbia, the Yukon Territory, the Northwest Territories, and the Nunavut Territory.

In Mexico:

The Distrito Federal and the states of Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Chiapas, Colima, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, México State, Michoacán, Morelos, Nayarit, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, San Luis Potosi, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tlaxcala, and Zacatecas.