AGeS: Awards for Geochronology Student Research

AGeS2 Program

Awards for Geochronology Student Research2


AGeS2 is coordinated by an Executive Committee that is co-chaired by Rebecca Flowers (CU) and Ramon Arrowsmith (ASU). Decision-making on the committee uses an open and consensus based approach. The Executive Committee discusses all major strategy decisions, helps communicate with user and lab communities, and promotes continued AGeS lab engagement.

The 10-member AGeS Review Committee will both evaluate proposals and act as the AGeS Advisory Committee. The committee will offer advice and discussion on the AGeS structure and review process.

Name AGeS Roles Expertise Title Institution
Rebecca Flowers Principal Investigator; Executive committee co-chair; cohort mentor (U-Th)/He geo- and thermochronology, tectonics Associate Professor Geological Sciences, University of Colorado Boulder
Ramón Arrowsmith CoPI, Executive committee co-chair; award administration lead; cohort mentor Tectonic geomorphology, Earthquake geology, Quaternary geochronology Professor School of Earth and Space Exploration, Arizona State University
Vicki McConnell CoPI, Executive committee member; support of reviews and reporting Volcanology, geologic hazards assessment, science/policy interface Executive Director Geological Society of America
Susan Eriksson Ex officio executive committee member; assessment lead Program monitoring and evaluation   President Eriksson and Associates
James Metcalf Executive committee member; student cohort lead; workshop and symposium logistics lead (U-Th)/He lab manager, thermochronology, tectonics Research Scientist and Lab Manager Geological Sciences, University of Colorado Boulder
Tammy Rittenour Executive committee member; cohort mentor Luminescence dating, geomorphology, paleoclimate Associate Professor Geology, Utah State University
Blair Schoene Executive committee member; cohort mentor U-Pb geochronology, continental magmatism, tectonics Associate Professor Geosciences, Princeton University

Brief history of AGeS

AGeS was conceived in 2012 and initially implemented in 2014 within the framework of the NSF EarthScope program. AGeS1 supported 25 AGeS projects over 3 proposal cycles in 2015, 2016, and 2017. A total of 135 AGeS1 proposals including a diversity of geochronology techniques were submitted, each one involving new interactions between labs and students. The network of AGeS labs grew to include 75 senior scientists associated with 46 labs distributed across the U.S. AGeS1 was supported by NSF awards EAR-1358514, -1358554, -1358401, -1358443 to R. Flowers (CU), J.R. Arrowsmith (ASU), T. Rittenour (USU), B Schoene (Princeton), and J. Metcalf (CU).

Motivated by widespread support for AGeS1, new cross-programmatic funding from NSF has now built AGeS2 into a wider initiative. AGeS2 expands its purview beyond the primarily North American–based focus of the EarthScope AGeS1 program. AGeS2 includes a new partnership with the Geological Society of America (GSA) to successfully manage this broader effort. AGeS2 is supported by NSF EAR-1759200, -1759353, -1759201 awards to R.M. Flowers (CU-Boulder, J.R. Arrowsmith (ASU), and V. McConnell (GSA).