GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation




Public Policy


Resources & Jobs


Find Your Science at GSA
SC Home Officers Bylaws

South-Central Section

2013–2014 Section Officers

3 Members — Terms: Chair – 1 year, Vice-Chair – 1 year, Secretary-Treasurer – 3 years


Elizabeth Catlos
The University of Texas at Austin
Department of Geological Sciences
1 University Station C1100
Austin, TX 78712, USA


Vice Chair:

Stephen Boss
University of Arkansas
Department of Geosciences
113 Ozark Hall
Fayetteville, AR 72701, USA

+1-479-575-7134 (direct)
+1-479-575-3469 (fax)

Second year of first
three year term

Wm. Jay Sims
University of Arkansas-Little Rock
Dept. of Earth Science
2801 S. University Ave.
302 Fribourgh Hall
Little Rock, AR 72204-1099, USA

+1-501-371-7613 (direct)
+1-501-569-3271 (fax)

Management Board
Includes the section officers, officers-elect, and a sufficient number of members-at-large to ensure that each state in the Section is represented on the board. The officers-elect shall become members of the board upon their election and the retiring officers shall continue as members until one week after the beginning of the next year's meeting. Members of the Council of the Society having their membership in the Section are voting members of the section board.

Past Chair:

Kevin M. Urbanczyk
Sul Ross State University
Dept. of Earth & Physical Science
SRSU Box C-139 Alpine, TX 79832-0001, USA

+1-432-837-8110 (direct)
+1-432-837-8692 (fax)


Elizabeth Catlos, Todd Halihan, Stephen Boss, Kevin M. Urbanczyk, Wendi J.W. Williams

GSA Councilor:

John M. Holbrook (2011-2015)

Includes: In the United States, the states of Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas; and in Mexico, the states of Coahuila, Nuevo Leon, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, and Veracruz.

(Transfer of Louisiana from Southeastern Section approved by Council 21 October 1997. Approved by Council 4 October 2008 to add the speecified states of Mexico to the South- Centeral Section.)

2,672 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2012.