GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Career Resources

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation

GSA International




Public Policy



Find Your Science at GSA
SC Home
Research & Travel Grants
South-Central Section

About the South-Central Section

The South-Central Section was established by the Council of the Geological Society of America in 1966. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2015-2016 Section Officers

3 Members — Terms: Chair – 1 year, Vice-Chair – 1 year, Secretary-Treasurer – 3 years


Peter D. Clift
Louisiana State University
Dept. of Geology & Geophysics
E235 Howe-Russell-Kniffen
Geoscience C
Baton Rouge, LA 70803-0001, USA


Vice Chair:

Benjamin E. Surpless
Trinity University
Geosciences MMS 244
1 Trinity Pl
San Antonio, TX 78212-4674 , USA


First year of a
second term

Wm. Jay Sims
University of Arkansas-Little Rock
Dept. of Earth Science
2801 S. University Ave.
302 Fribourgh Hall
Little Rock, AR 72204-1099, USA

+1-501-371-7613 (direct)
+1-501-569-3271 (fax)

Management Board
Includes the section officers, officers-elect, and a sufficient number of members-at-large to ensure that each state in the Section is represented on the board. The officers-elect shall become members of the board upon their election and the retiring officers shall continue as members until one week after the beginning of the next year's meeting. Members of the Council of the Society having their membership in the Section are voting members of the section board.

Past Chair:

Todd Halihan
Oklahoma State University
School of Geology
105 NRC
Stillwater, OK 74078-3031, USA

+1-405-744-7841 (fax)


Wendi J.W. Williams, Stephen Boss, Antony (Tony) N. Giles, Jonathan B. Sumrall, Antonio Cardona, Matthew F. Kirk

GSA Councilors:

Elizabeth Catlos

Includes: In the United States, the states of Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas; and in Mexico, the states of Coahuila, Nuevo Leon, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, and Veracruz.

(Transfer of Louisiana from Southeastern Section approved by Council 21 October 1997. Approved by Council 4 October 2008 to add the speecified states of Mexico to the South- Centeral Section.)

2,793 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2014.


In the United States:

The states of Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana*, Oklahoma, and Texas.

In Mexico:

The states of Coahuila, Nuevo León, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, and Veracruz.

*Note: In 1997, Louisiana's affiliation changed from the Southeastern to the South-Central Section.