GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation




Public Policy


Resources & Jobs


Find Your Science at GSA
Officers Home
Awards Travel Grants
Newsletters Travel Visas
Bylaws Secretariat
International Lecture Tour
U.S. / International
Geoscience Organizations

International Section


Honorary Fellow | Distinguished Career

Deadline for Award Nominations: 1 March

Distinguished Career Award

The Distinguished Career Award will be given to a geologist who has made numerous, distinguished, and significant contributions that have clearly advanced the international geological sciences through service and or scientific activities. The award will consist of a plaque inscribed with the name of the recipient, the name of the award, the name of the Section, and the emblem of The Geological Society of America. The award will be presented at the annual business meeting of the International Section.

Past Recipients
2013 B. Clark Burchfiel Massachusetts Institute of Technology citation/response
2010 W. Gary Ernst Stanford University (emeritus) citation/response
2009 Yildirim Dilek The Miami University citation/response
2008 Rolf Emmermann GeoForschungsZentrum, Potsdam, Germany citation/response
2007 Alan Gilbert Smith Cambridge University citation/response
2006 Eldridge M. Moores University of California, Davis citation/response
2003 John A. Reinemund USGS Chief of Internation Programs citation/response

Farouk El-Baz
2014 Recipient

Farouk El-Baz
Boston University

The citation and response will be posted after the October Awards Ceremony at the GSA Annual Meeting in Vancouver.

International Section Honorary Fellow Award

The section’s Honorary Fellowship is presented to an international geoscientist who has distinguished him-or herself in geoscience investigations, promoting environmental awareness, linking science and society, providing notable service to implementing public policy in natural resource managements, or otherwise making outstanding contributions to science. The inaugural award was presented at the International Section’s Reception at the 2012 GSA Annual Meeting in Charlotte, North Carolina, USA.

Past Recipients
2013 Shuwen Dong Chinese Academy of Geological Sciences China
2012 Sospeter Mwijarubi Muhongo University of Dar Es Salaam Tanzania