About the South-Central Section

GSA South-Central Section

The South-Central Section was established by the Council of the Geological Society of America in 1966. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.


2016-2017 Section Officers

3 Members — Terms: Chair – 1 year, Vice-Chair – 1 year, Secretary-Treasurer – 3 years


Benjamin E. Surpless
Trinity University

Vice Chair:

Michael DeAngelis
University of Arkansas

First year of a
second term

Wm. Jay Sims
University of Arkansas-Little Rock
+1-501-371-7613 (direct)

Management Board
Includes the section officers, officers-elect, and a sufficient number of members-at-large to ensure that each state in the Section is represented on the board. The officers-elect shall become members of the board upon their election and the retiring officers shall continue as members until one week after the beginning of the next year's meeting. Members of the Council of the Society having their membership in the Section are voting members of the section board.

Past Chair:

Peter D. Clift
Louisiana State University


Stephen Boss, Todd Halihan, Antony (Tony) N. Giles, Jonathan B. Sumrall, Antonio Cardona, Matthew F. Kirk, Wendi J. Williams, Keith Gray

GSA Councilors:

Elizabeth Catlos

Membership 2,719 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2016.


In the United States:

The states of Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana*, Oklahoma, and Texas.

In Mexico:

The states of Coahuila, Nuevo León, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, and Veracruz.

*Note: In 1997, Louisiana's affiliation changed from the Southeastern to the South-Central Section.