About the Northeastern Section

Northeastern Section

The Northeastern Section was founded by the Council of the Geological Society of America in April 1965. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2018–2019 Section Officers


Terms: Chair—1 year, Vice-Chair—1 year, Secretary—4 years


Paul B. Tomascak
SUNY Oswego


Julie Brigham-Grette
Univ. Massachusetts - Amherst
+1- 413-577-2270

Fourth year of a first
4-year term

David P. West
Middlebury College

Management Board
Includes the section officers, the retiring officers, and two section members elected at large who serve overlapping 2-year terms.

Past Chair:

Janet R. Stone
U.S. Geological Survey

Past Secretary, Accounting Officer, Member of Local Committee:

Stephen G. Pollock
University of Southern Maine
+1-207-780-5353 (direct)
+1-207-780-5350 (department)

Student Representative:

Allison Severson
Colorado School of Mines


Mark Evans, Sean R. Cornell

GSA Councilor:

Carmala Garzione, Frank Pazzaglia, Suzanne O'Connell

Membership 4,268 voting members of the Section as of December 2018.


The GSA Foundation has awarded $4,500 to each of the six GSA sections. The Northeastern Section offers two types of grants:

Please contact the Section Secretary (above) for more information.


In the United States:

The District of Columbia and the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

In Canada:

The provinces of New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and that part of Ontario east of the 89th meridian.