About the Cordilleran Section

Cordilleran Section

The Cordilleran Section is the oldest of GSA's sections. It was formally approved on 26 August 1901, when the Society itself was only 13 years old. The first organizational meeting of the Section, held in Berkeley in 1899, included the presentation of 11 scientific papers. Please explore the links at right to learn about the benefits we offer our Section members.


2016-2017 Section Officers

Terms:  Chair—1 year;   Vice-Chair— 1 year;   Secretary—4 years


Susan M. Cashman
Humboldt State University


Michael Wells
University of Nevada Las Vegas

Secretary and Accounting Officer:
First year of first 4-year term

Calvin G. Barnes
Texas Tech University

Management Board
Includes the Section officers, the Section Chair for the preceding year, and two voting members of GSA, one selected by the Seismological Society of America, and one by the Pacific Coast Section of the Paleontological Society to serve as councilors for one year.

Student Representative:

Gabriel-Philip Francisco Santos
La Palma, Calif.

Past Chair:

Kathleen Surpless
Trinity University

GSA Councilors:

John Clague, Jonathan Price, Bruce R. Clark

Pacific Coast Section of the Paleontological Society:

Stephen Schellenberg
San Diego State University

5,763 voting Section members as of 29 December 2017.


In the United States:

The states of Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and that part of Arizona south of 35 degrees North Latitude.

In Canada:

The Province of British Columbia, the Yukon Territory, the Northwest Territories, and the Nunavut Territory.

In Mexico:

The Distrito Federal and the states of Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Chiapas, Colima, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, México State, Michoacán, Morelos, Nayarit, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, San Luis Potosi, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tlaxcala, and Zacatecas.