GSA home

join | donate | contact us

125 Years

125th Anniversary

About GSA

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Find Your Science at GSA

Current Newsletter Bylaws
Newsletter Archive Awards

GSA Mineralogy, Geochemistry, Petrology, and Volcanology (MGPV) Division

Purpose of the MGPV Division:
5 Members Chair - 1 year; First Vice-Chair - 1 year; Second Vice-Chair,  - 1 year;
Secretary-Treasurer,  - 2 years; immediate Past Chair,  - 1 year

Eric H. Christiansen
Brigham Young University
Dept. of Geological Sciences
PO Box 24606
Provo, UT 84602-4606


*First Vice-Chair

Diane Ruth Smith
Trinity University
Dept. of Geosciences
One Trinity Place
San Antonio, TX 78212-7200

+1-210999-7090 (fax)

  *Second Vice-Chair

Yildirim Dilek
Miami University
Dept Geology & Env. Earth Science
116 Shideler Hall
Oxford, OH 45056



J. Alexander Speer
Mineralogical Society of America
3635 Concorde Pkwy Ste 500
Chantilly, VA 20151-1110

+1 703 652 9950
+1-703-652-9951 (fax)

*Past Chair

Calvin G. Barnes
Texas Tech University
Department of Geosciences
PO Box 41053
Lubbock, TX 79409-1053

+1 806 742-3106
+1 806 742-0100 (fax)

* A one-year term of office which shall begin immediately following the annual business meeting at which their election is announced and extend through the next annual business meeting.
** Second year of an initial two year term.

Adhering Associated Society Representatives

Clay Minerals Society

Warren D. Huff
University of Cincinnati
Dept of Geology
PO Box 210013
Cincinnati OH 45221-0013


Geochemical Society

William K. Hart
Miami University
Dept of Geology & Environmental Earth Science
114 Shideler Hall
Oxford, OH 45056-2473


Mineralogical Association of Canada

David A. Fowle
University of Kansas
Dept of Geology
1475 Jayhawk Blvd. Room 120
Lawrence KS 66045-7594

+1-785-864-5276 (fax)

Mineralogical Society of America

Wendy A. Bohrson
Central Washington Univ
Dept Geological Sciences
400 E University Way, MS 7418
Ellensburg, WA 98926-7502

+1-509-963-2821 (fax)

Mineralogical Society of Great Britain & Ireland

Kevin Murphy
Mineralogical Society
12 Baylis Mews, Amy and Park Road
Twickenham TW1 3HQ
United Kingdom

+353-0-23-8845419 (fax)

The annual business meeting of the Division is held during the annual meeting of the Society.

MGPV banner