GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Career Resources

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Find Your Science at GSA
Past Awardees
Click on the linked names to read the
citation and response from that year's award ceremony.
2013 John G. Van Hoesen, Green Mountain College
2012 Kathleen D. Surpless, Trinity University in San Antonio
2011 Natalie Bursztyn, Bakersfield College
2010 Michael C. Rygel, State University of New York at Potsdam
2009 Laura Guertin, Penn State Brandywine
2008 Karen M. Kortz, Community College of Rhode Island
2007 Joe T. Elkins, Bowling Green State University
2006 Gary S. Solar, Buffalo State College
2005 Joel L. Pederson, Utah State University
2004 Gregory S. Hancock, William and Mary College
2003 Linda A. Reinen, Pomona College
2002 Karen Harpp, Colgate University
2001 Eric Grosfils, Pomona College
2000 Carol de Wet, Franklin & Marshall College
1999 Christopher M. Bailey, College of William and Mary
1998 John J. Field, Western Washington University
1997 Parvinder Sethi, Radford University
1996 Jonathan Levy, Miami University
1995 Barbara M. Manner, Duguesne University
1994 Allen J. Dennis, University of South Carolina-Aiken Campus
1993 David N. Douglass, Pasadena City College
1992 Heather MacDonald, College of William and Mary

Biggs Award for Excellence in Earth Science Teaching

Nomination Deadline: 1 February
To nominate, please complete this form.

The Biggs Award, which recognizes innovative and effective teaching of earth science among early career faculty, is the Geoscience Education Division’s Named Award. Earth science instructors and faculty from all academic institutions engaged in undergraduate education, who have been teaching full-time for 10 years or less are eligible. Part-time teaching is not counted in the 10 years. Nominees may self-nominate for this award.

An award of $750 is made possible as a result of support from the Donald and Carolyn Biggs Fund, the GSA Geoscience Education Division, and GSA's Education & Outreach Programs. An additional travel reimbursement of up to $500 is available to the recipient to attend the award presentation at the GSA annual meeting.