Geological Society of America Announces 2018–2019 Officers & Councilors

Boulder, CO, USA: Robbie Rice Gries, with Priority Oil & Gas LLC, of Denver, Colorado, will take over as President of The Geological Society of America on 1 July 2018. The incoming President-elect is Donald I. Siegel of Syracuse University. Rounding out the new Executive Committee are immediate past-president Isabel P. Montañez, University of California, Davis; returning Treasurer Richard C. Berg, Illinois State Geological Survey; and Councilor-at-Large Mark Little, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

"Beginning this year as president, I am excited about the process and the promise unfolding in GSA's major Long Range Strategic Planning efforts," said Gries. "Hearing from members, working with a dedicated group of volunteers who are putting so much time and effort into this, and listening to GSA staff that are fully engaged has made for a remarkable year. And that dynamic promises to continue through the Plan’s completion in early 2019."

Gries continued, "Isabel Montañez has been the lead on this and hands over part of that role to me at this juncture, but she will continue to participate through the final product, and for this I am extremely grateful."

Gries will deliver her Presidential Address at the Society's 2018 Annual Meeting in Indianapolis, and will speak to current social issues with her talk, "Navigating 'Me, Too' in the Geosciences." The luncheon takes place from noon to 1:30 p.m., on Sunday, 4 November 2018, at the Indiana State Convention Center. This event is open to all meeting attendees, and members of the media are invited to attend.

Gries observes that, "This is an issue GSA and other professional societies have been addressing over the last couple of years and GSA has notable proactive initiatives underway."

"I believe that scientists, and especially geoscientists, have some unique and powerful skills that can lend themselves to successful navigation in this challenging climate," Gries says.

Newly-elected Councilors serving four-year terms from 1 July 2018–30 June 2022 are Jeffrey N. Rubin, Tualatin Valley Fire & Rescue in Tigard, Oregon; Nathan A. Niemi, University of Michigan; and Wendy A. Bohrson, Central Washington University.

Information about the full GSA Council is online.

GSA Executive Director Vicki S. McConnell welcomed the new Officers and Councilors saying, "We are grateful for the involvement of these dedicated and insightful leaders as GSA defines a path forward to advance the geosciences."

The Geological Society of America serves members from academia, government, and industry in more than 100 countries. Through its meetings, publications, and programs, GSA enhances the professional growth of its members and promotes the geosciences in the service of humankind. GSA encourages cooperative research among earth, life, planetary, and social scientists, fosters public dialogue on geoscience issues, and supports all levels of earth science education.